tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Off, Off! damn lipstick!

Yet another spin class last night, this time Bob was the instructor. I�m pretty picky about the spin classes I take. I prefer male instructors partly for the eye candy factor, but mostly because they play better music. I used to take one woman�s class because it fit into my schedule, but her musical taste was godawful - all manner of sappy crapola and no real rhythm to the class. Most of the male instructors seem to put real thought into the tapes that they make for class and to play a mix of high-energy music that stays within my boundaries of good taste. Bob is the king of the spin-tape mixes. He must have over thirty tapes and if he's drawing from his personal music collection it must be incredibly huge and varied. I heart Bob�s music. Bob has such a following that you have to get there an hour before his class to sign up for a bike or else you�re out of luck. Some people, generally referred to as The Bob Snobs, will only take his classes. When he goes out of town it�s like a ghost town in his classes. Anyway. last night he played the tape with Free Bird on it, which was a bit disappointing. The rest of the tape is great, but Free Bird is like an 8 minute exercise in torture. Sure, when the song is done you can pat your self on the back and figure that you�ve just taken care of about 16% of the class, but during the song all I can think about is how sucky it is and how much of it could possibly be left. I think one week he played a tape that had both Free Bird and Jessica on it and I was in some sore of Southern Rock Hell. Blech � Bob, please,stick to the classic New Wave and the current alterna-hits, I�m begging you. I have a fantasy where I make an awesome spin tape and somehow anonymously get it to Bob and then he plays it the next week in class with a plea to know who gave him the tape. I'd never say it was me - just the satisfaction of getting my tape into the rotation would be enough. It must be the college DJ in me coming out.

The Outlast lipstick is a winner! Perhaps Brazen Raisin isn�t the exact shade for me though as by the end of the afternoon I looked like a member of the undead with seriously dark purple lips, but the fact was that at least my lips were still purple! The color did stay and in fact was very difficult to get off � duh. I wanted to be lipstick-less when I went to the gym so I wetted a paper towel and tried to rub it off. No go. I used a little soap. Still no go, and in addition bad. soap. taste. I finally had to resort to applying gobs of an oil based lip balm (or, as my friend Kristen would say Lip BLAM!) to get it off. Megan recommends the oil-soaked eye makeup remover pads which I shall have to try. I give it a thumbs up. It stayed on all day and with a few reapplications of the sealant/gloss stuff, it didn�t feel dry at all.

Steve tried to sabotage my healthy eating by making pasta with pesto sauce last night � one of my all-time favorite dishes. I was pretty good � I filled up on a huge salad and only snagged a few bites of the delectable pasta off of his plate. Pesto always makes me think of summer because that�s when the basil is fresh and plentiful and we make enough pesto to freeze it and ration it out to last the rest of the year. Yum. Then I took a shower and went to bed. The heater was fixed ($225.00 thank you very much Mr. American Weathermakers) and the house was back up to the regular temperature so I didn�t have to worry about appendages freezing solid during the middle of the night. The cats apparently hadn�t clued into the temperature change though � all three of them piled on the bed and made sleeping somewhat difficult. It would be great if Steve and I were midgets because then our legs wouldn�t need to go down to the end of the bed, but as regular, average sized humans we need that space at the bottom which is of course where the cats like to sleep. They�ve figured out that the mattress-pad-heater has more coils at the bottom and it�s way warmer down there. The might not be the brightest bulbs in the marquee, but they do have their priorities about staying warm.

Tonight is archery night. The target league is over, so it�s just for fun and practice. The new 600 round league doesn�t start up for a few weeks. I really need a coach. I sent an email to the Chicagoland JOAD people (that�s Junior Olympic Archery Development for the rest of y�all) to see if they have any coaches available and I�m hoping they�ll respond. I fully realize that I�m not Olympic material, but I think it�s really just more of a developmental organization. I just hope the Junior part isn�t all that it is about. I�d feel like a major goober if I were the only adult there. But just practicing isn�t cutting it for me anymore. I don�t think my scores will go up until someone watches me and corrects the mistakes that I probably make each and every time I shoot the bow. It�s a frustrating hobby/sport, but I do enjoy it and all the people we�ve met have been really nice. Oh well � maybe I�ll have a breakthrough night tonight. Ha.

11:43 a.m. - 2004-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie