tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fuck you Carol!

My tape dispenser ran out of tape about two weeks ago and I�ve been too lazy to refill it. I will admit to half-heartedly poking around in the supply closet a couple of times to see if I could find the tape stash, but I didn�t have any luck and our receptionist/stock closet maven was out of town so I just kind of gave up on the Quest for Tape. But today one of my co-workers announced a trip to the stock closet and I put in my request for a roll of tape. Now in the past we�ve generally had the kind of frosty looking tape that �disappears� on the paper once you have taped whatever it is you are taping. But this tape! This tape is glossy, nay! Shiny! I though it was some off-brand as our receptionist tends to try to find ways to cheap out on office supplies and copy paper, but upon examination of the box it is gen-u-wine 3M Highland Transparent Tape. The box extols the virtues: �Transparent finish makes tape easy to see through. For use in hand and desk dispensers.� I dig this new tape. I don�t tape an awful lot of things at work, but this makes me want to seek out new things to tape. I admit it, I�m a school/office supplies geek. Who among us doesn�t relish the potential of a new set of pens, a mechanical pencil, a blank notebook, and a Trapper Keeper to put it all away in? It�s all so exciting.

So, I�m taking Monday off work for two exciting reasons. One: Art Chicago has it�s last day and if Steve and I can haul ass down there between 10 and noon we might be able to pick up a cool piece or art cheaply from a gallery that doesn�t want to take the trouble to wrap it up and ship it back. Two: We finally, I repeat, FINALLY, get to go see the lawyer to sign the contract for the house. I assume a closing date will be set. This makes me so happy I could pee. I may even have to drag Steve to Trader Vic�s for some celebratory umbrella drinks. Readers, this has been a long haul � this house thing. I�ve sunk over $40K into this house that almost never got to be ours. Now, I finally get to buy it and sink in even more money. Strangely, this excites me. I realize that this means months of frugality in my future, but I�m willing to deal with that. Looks like it�s time to order the �Fuck You Carol� neon sign for our Christmas cards so we can finally tell Steve�s aunt how we feel about her bunging up this whole deal.

That�s all for today � I�ve had to be a busy bee at work and I got taken out for lunch, so no time for a long update.

4:08 p.m. - 2004-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie