tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Recipe For You!

Last night was a complete waste of time. Steve got to go to a Sox game and I was going to be a good, healthy person and go running but I was thwarted by the downpour. So I made a quiche. Steve and I have basil growing in the garden and I spend a lot of time pinching off blossoms to it doesn�t get weedy and plucking off dead leaves so they don�t sap the growth, but I oddly don�t spend a lot of time eating the basil. So I decided to remedy that. I found a recipe for an easy quiche (read � crust is made out of Pillsbury crescent rolls and not made from scratch) that had cherry tomatoes and fresh basil in it. I stopped at the store on the way home and, of course, got stuck behind a nutbag. I didn�nt know she was a nutbag at first, but that�s only because I couldn�t see her OTHER CART that was parked at the front of the checkout area and was full of plants that she was basically trying to get for free. Well, not free but she was arguing about how much they were supposed to be discounted. Finally the checker had to void all the plant stuff and send her over to the service desk. Gah. Then I got stuck in major traffic on the way home. When I started to make the quiche I popped open the crescent rolls which refused to unroll. I�m not a big Lovin� From the Oven Pillsbury person, so I don�t know a whole lot about premade uncooked bakery goods but I know enough to recognize it when the crescent rolls aren�t going to separate into 8 convenient triangles. So, I mushed the whole thing together and tried to roll it out into a sheet of dough. Not happening. The other issue at hand was that I must have left my pie plate at my mom�s on Thanksgiving when I made pumpkin pie so I was trying to use an oval baking dish. The dough would roll out a little and then contract back into a ball. Finally, I succumbed to the crazed PMS beast that was just waiting for something like this to set it off and I hurled the dough ball at the wall whereupon it fell to the floor on a pile of cat hair. This necessitated a trip to the Grocery Store of Last Chance by me to get a new tube of crescent rolls. It�s only about 3 blocks, but drove anyway because I was pissed off. This is the nastiest grocery store � I try to only buy canned goods or pre-packaged items here because the store is populated by freaks � shoppers and employees � and you never know who�s been handling your produce. I find more stuff in the wrong place in this store � frozen foods melting amongst the snack foods, meat spoiling by the breakfast cereal � it completely grosses me out. But I figured the crescent rolls were ok and I also found a pie pan to make things easier. I had left the oven on to pre-heat while I was out (shaddup � it was only a 10 minute trip) and of course I came home to the smoke detector going off because some drippage in the oven was burning off. Oops. Sorry neighbors. I hope that 5:15 am alarm guy was trying to catch a nap when it went off. The rest of the quiche baking went well � the only other hitch was that the package of pre-shredded mozzarella was slightly melted together (note to self: do not put groceries on the floor of the car again � obviously some sort of hot spot or portal to Hell). In case you�re interested here�s the recipe � it�s quick easy and tasty:

You will need:

1 8 oz. package of Pillsbury crescent rolls

1 pint of cherry tomatoes

1 cup pre-shredded mozzarella

2 eggs

� cup heavy whipping cream (or whole milk � you decide how fast you want you arteries to clog up)

4 springs of basil

2 TBSP Olive oil

course salt (like kosher salt or that French fleur de mer stuff that Martha Stewart was pushing)

Preheat your oven to 375 deg.

Take an 8oz. package of crescent rolls and line a 9� or 10� pie pan with the rolls putting the long points in towards the center and overlapping the edges very slightly. Make sure to press the triangles together to prevent gaps.

Bake for 8 minutes on a rack placed in the center of the oven.

While this is baking:

Halve the cherry tomatoes

Snip the basil with kitchen shears into little strips

In a medium bowl whisk together the 2 eggs, cream and mozzarella

After 8 minutes take the crust out of the oven � it will have puffed up a bit. Mash it down with the back of a large spoon.

Put the tomato halves cut-side up and place them on the bottom of the crust covering as much of the bottom as you can. Drizzle the olive oil over the tomatoes, sprinkle some salt over the tomatoes, and then spread the basil around.

Spoon the egg/cream/cheese mix over the tomatoes & basil

Put some foil over the exposed crust edge � otherwise it will burn before the rest cooks.

Put it back in the oven for about 20 minutes

Take out and let it cool for about 15 minutes on a rack. DO NOT try to cut it right away � it won�t have set yet. Wait the 15 minutes � you�ll be glad you did.

Enjoy!

1:48 p.m. - 2004-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie