tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A whore for the good word

I seem to be less snotty today. If you care, that is. I�m also relatively �quil free. I still didn�t go to Boot Camp Fitness this morning though � no reason to press my luck.

Other than the Nordstrom Spring Make-up Bonanza tomorrow morning this will hopefully be a very quiet, low energy weekend. Maybe a trip to Costco for some garbage bags and toilet paper, maybe a stop at Target. What I�d really like to do is go see a movie. Specifically I�d like to see if Sideways is still around anywhere or maybe I can get Steve to overcome his distaste for �the little jerk� (Leonardo DiCaprio) and we can go see The Aviator. Hey, I�m well known for my movie oddities (I have never seen Moonstruck because I can�t stand Cher), and I�m not overly fond of Leo myself, but this movie promises some old skool Hollywood glamour to feast upon. Plus, one person in a marriage with unsubstantiated quirks is plenty if you ask me. Of course those who hated Titanic may feel that Steve�s quirk is not so unsubstantiated. Another argument for another day.

I�m wearing my birthday present today � a sumptuous double strand of creamy pearls. My parents gave me the gift that keeps giving so I bought myself a necklace I had seen on my trip to El Paso. Every girl should have pearls � so classic, so refined, so versatile. I had a really mediocre strand of baroque freshwater pearls but it�s just not the same. Not to mention that these have a very nice deco clasp with sparkly diamond chips. And, because they were shipped across state lines, no tax. Whee!! I foresee wearing a lot of v-neck sweaters and open necked shirts for the next few weeks.

So, the ex-college DJ in me is patting myself on the back. I made a swag CD for the Weetacon and was complemented on it by Ms. Bix herself. I�m such a whore for complements on my mixes. I made a Spin Mix for Bob, the spin instructor, and practically peed myself when he came over to me during class and gushed about how good is was. My friend Alli is a direct result of one of my mix tapes. Yes, tapes. Hey � back then there were no recordable CDs. I know I�m dating myself a bit but that�s OK. I had just joined a sorority (I know, so totally establishment, but we were kind of the loser sorority) mid-year and had been introduced to Alli at a party. She has a kind of poise and quiet elegance that intrigued me, but for all I knew she listened to Starship or New Kids on the Block or some other drivel. So I made a mix tape with the coolest, newest college music I had, gave her a copy, and By George! She liked it! And a beautiful friendship was born that continues to this day.

Random question: Where does all the snot come from, and why does the snot-faucet only get turned on full blast when you have a cold? When you are well, where does all the snot go? I must have blown a gallon of snot out of my nose in the past week. There�s a pretty image � a big milk jug full of��well you get the picture. I�ll leave you with the very true quote from Mark Twain that is on my cat-quote-a-day calendar (GIFT � it was a GIFT. I�m only half way to crazy-cat lady � not all the way there yet):

�The man who sets out to carry a cat by its tail learns something that will always be useful and which never will grow dim or doubtful.�

1:51 p.m. - 2005-03-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie