tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NYC Part I

Whew. I�m almost recovered from the post-NYC exhaustion. Here�s a recap of the trip:

Note: thanks to the lovely and talented Weetabix, I�m trying to add links to this entry so please bear with me while I try my hand at html for the first time.

Thursday: Flew into the Long Island airport and managed to catch the shuttle to the train and get the train into Penn Station with no mishaps. We even had time for a slice of NY-style pizza at the train station in Ronkonkoma while we waited. Steve and I found Rob�s office easily and picked up the keys for his apartment. We chit-chatted a bit until he had an appointment to go to and then we hit the streets to check out a couple of cute shops near Rob�s office that he recommended as having �totally Paula things� for sale. We stopped in at Butter & Eggs and I resisted the pink leather pig doorstop only because it was too freaking heavy to carry around for the rest of the day, and Steve bought me a chiming steel egg in honor of the Easter weekend. Then we stopped in down the street at Working Class where I tried gallantly to get Steve a pair of cufflinks that looked like tiny handsaws, but his excuse that a lack of French-cuff shirts would necessitate buying an entirely new shirt wardrobe just so that he could flaunt cute $65 cuff-links. Finding the shops cute, but not tempting enough to buy anything we again hopped on the subway and headed to the Nomadic Museum. The photos in the museum were beautifully printed and presented, but the subject matter didn�t really interest me. I was more interested in the shipping-container and paper-tube quik-assembly museum concept. It was undeniably very hip in all it�s sparseness but it would have been nice if they could have figured out a way to heat the inside so I didn�t feel like I was visiting the best appointed meat-locker in the world. Plus I felt the $12 entry fee was a bit steep considering that there were maybe 30 photos total and an hour long video � for $12 I would have liked more than just two skimpy overhead heat lamps so that I could have leisurely enjoyed the photos and film without fearing frostbite. After leaving the museum we walked around the neighborhood, known as the Meatpacking District, which seems to have mostly left behind its plebian roots in favor of Alexander McQueen and Stella McCartney shops that I didn�t even dare to go into � I prefer to shop at places where I might be able to afford more than a pair of socks and also where I�m not likely to be out-snobbed by the staff. Steve and I met Dawn, Rob�s ex, for dinner at La Bottega in the nearby the Maritime Hotel. I got a wee bit bombed, as did Dawn, and we wound up in a cab singing �Total Eclipse of the Heart� at the top of our lungs much to the dismay of both Steve and the cab driver. I vaguely remember stumbling into Rob�s apartment, pulling out the sofa bed and taking a quick shower and I was blissfully asleep (read: passed out) by the time Rob came home from the opera,

I�ll recap Friday and Saturday later � three links seems ambitious enough for one entry, and if they work there will be more to come!

PS � The new servers at Diaryland? Not so much. I�ve had temptations to go to the DarkSide (that would be Live Journal) but I�d prefer to stay put here. So, this will get posted whenever DL will let me.

3:09 p.m. - 2005-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie