tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have A Pustule Holiday!

Two weekends ago Steve and I were bored and desperately trying to avoid housework so we took a drive to a couple of antique stores. We hit our favorite place in the �burbs first and scored a unique mod (Italian?) light fixture from the 60�s or 70�s and I also bought An inexpensive faux-jade bead necklace. Then like two bargain happy idiots we decided to go to Architectural Artifacts. We usually only go to AA for the super sale parties when there�s some sort of nominal discount on almost everything in the store, free beer/appetizers, and music. AA has always been an expensive place. There were always the gigantic $20,000 stained glass panels, the huge ornately carved $12,000 mantels, and the unique $3500 light fixtures, but there also used to be a decent selection of bits and bobs that were reasonably affordable. In the past we�ve bought a collection box from a church (perfect for spare change!), an airport runway light (always able to find your way from the garage to the house!), a large chest of drawers from a school science lab (Big! Heavy! Must-Have!), and the grade school chairs that I sit in to watch tv (not covered in cat piss!). But now, it�s getting to the point were everything in there is so freaking expensive that unless you�re Lovey Gottrox or, more likely, her Interior Desecrator you can�t afford anything. We picked out two things that we liked that carried no price tags. Immediate DANGER! alert because once they sniff out an interest I suspect that the price immediately goes way up. One item was maybe some sort of 40�s autoclave or sterilization thing that was shaped like a big birdhouse and had a really cool glass door with a chromed handle. That turned out to be $450. Um, no. The other thing was this bronze arm that looked like it might have been part of a larger statue at one time. It was, why don�t you sit down now, $3800, because it was, you know, 18th Century French. I heard the price and mentioned that I was fairly certain that my own arm wasn�t worth $3800. Sigh. I guess I�ll just have to wait until their next big sale party and see what�s marked down. The arm will NEVER be marked down enough to bring it into my range, but they might have lowered the price on some of the other stuff (there�s a wall-hung payphone that I�ve been coveting for some time now). In the meantime I�ve taken to referring to them as Architectural Assholes and it makes me feel just a little bit better.

Can I mention that back when I was a teen-ager in high school if someone had pulled me aside and told me that when I was 36 I would still be getting pimples I might just have chosen to find a nice set of train tracks to lie down on and end it all. Now I will say that I don�t get them as often or with the same severity that I did back then, but it seems unfair to be a grown adult with access to all manner of high-end dermatologists and cosmetic remedies and still have zits. It doesn�t help matters that I am incapable of leaving them alone. I pick, squeeze, examine them in high definition, and then subsequently use all manner of flesh-toned make-up to hide them (I have become a veritable artiste at blending). I have a lovely cluster of three charming little pimplettes around my mouth leaving me to wonder if my toothpaste is toxic. Note: when I went on Pimple Patrol last night I found yet another one lurking in my eyebrow. Nice. I�m grasping at straws here, but could I be allergic to cinnamon or cloves or pumpkin or something like that? The only thing I can think of that I�ve radically changed in the last week or so is that I�ve been eating a (generous) slice of pumpkin bread from Schlegl�s Bakery every morning for breakfast. Oh well, if that�s the case then the last loaf is almost gone anyway, though I may sprout a few more before pumpkin pie season is over. More likely they�re holiday stress zits and they�ll just keen coming until after New Year.

That�s all for now � I have to rest up for the eat-a-thon tomorrow.

1:30 p.m. - 2005-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie