tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Springfield bound!

Whoo am I glad Thanksgiving is over � two turkey dinners is just too much. The T-giving round-up? In-laws turkey was juicier (something about roasting it in a bag) and their vegetable sides are better, but my mom�s stuffing tops it all and I much prefer my mom�s roasted potatoes to the in-law�s mac�n�cheese. When we get a new stove � maybe in the next few weeks � I plan on trying my hand at a turkey. I have a recipe for stuffing made from White Castle sliders that sounds super tasty and I�m dying to try it out. Plus I�m sure that an inevitable turkey mishap will also give me a chance to try out the self-clean feature that the new oven will have.

The animal shelter holiday bazaar went OK � I think we made less money than usual. Maybe everyone was tapped out from Hurricane Katrina or something. I did my best to help, bidding on a bunch of silent auction items in hopes that others would bid me up. It worked in some cases, but I did get �stuck� with a large ceramic platter, a baby hat (no, NOT for me), three bottles of wine, a tub of litterbox supplies, and a ride for myself and three friends on the Channel 5 NBC parade float in one of the lesser Chicago parades (i.e. not the Thanksgiving parade). I�ll probably choose the Southside Irish Parade because it�s supposed to be really fun and I�ve always wanted to go, but I�ve never really wanted to deal with the drunken throngs of parade watchers. If I�m on the float I can observe the revelry but not be crushed by parade louts.

I have tomorrow off work � I have one of my State Veterinary Board meetings down in Springfield. Steve and I are driving down tonight and staying at a hotel in town � otherwise I�d have to get up at the crack of dawn to make it to S-Field by the time the meeting starts. Usually we eat dinner at a Cracker Barrel on the way (don�t scoff, it�s better than McDonald�s and their hash brown casserole is divine), but if we can make it to Bloomington before 8pm I found a place that has deep fried battered dill pickle chips on the menu. Yum! My two favorite things � pickled food and fried food combined in one!

Just a quickie today � I�m trying to get two days worth of work done today so I�m not so backed up on Thursday when I return to the grind.

3:19 p.m. - 2005-11-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie