tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now with Active Cultures!

Goddamn I hate Oprah. Apparently on this year�s (last year�s?) Favorite Things show she mentioned the facial moisturizer I use � Philosophy Hope in a Jar. Now I can�t order a jar from any of my usual suspects � Drugstore.com, Sephora � no one has any left and they can�t even say when they will get restocked. Fucking Oprahmania. I think the �official� Philosophy website (www.philosophy.com - I wonder how much they had to pay for THAT domain name?) has it in stock, but I want the sample goodies that I get when I order from Drugstore or Sephora. Pout.

You know you�ve been watching too much �Law and Order� when you start to recognize extras who have been on the show more than once � �Hey � wasn�t that material witness the crazy mom in that other episode?� I think I need to lay off for awhile.

Has anyone tried any of the products by Spanx? Alli used to wear the Bralalujah, but it looks like a glorified Ace bandage and the lack of underwire screams floppage to me. I�m more interested in a couple of the products I saw in the latest catalog from Bliss like the Bod-a-Bing! Slimming skirt and pants. Do they work? Are they flattering? I�m also intrigued by the MBT sneakers that claim to help battle thigh cellulite, but $245 a pop seems like a lot to pay for dorky looking kicks. I�m not sure where I heard the term �kicks� used for sneakers, but I�m trying to use it whenever I can, which reminds me that I want to get to a Nordstrom to check out their selection of Pumas and Adidas. For some reason I�m suddenly craving hip �lifestyle� sneakers. I mean kicks.

Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday: 1 hour spin class � I�m getting back into class shape and not wheezing the whole time. I also feel OK today � not like last week when it felt like someone had beaten me with a rubber hose.
Dinner yesterday: 6-7 green olives, salad, leftover homemade pizza (probably one slice too many, but it was sooooo good). For dessert Steve brought me 3 of those repulsive yet delicious corn-flake/marshmallow wreath cookies from his mom�s still enormous stash of Christmas cookies. Yay � green poop today!
Breakfast: glass of grapefruit juice, coffee with milk, lite yogurt.
Lunch: 1 packet of tuna, 4 grainy ryecrisps, an apple, a handful of pecans.
Snack: an orange.
Reading: I finished the �French Women� diet book. Eh. Most of the rest of it was recipes and lame-o advice about moderation. Plus I had trouble getting past the Francophile bullshit and knocks on Big Bad America � I know, what should I have expected? I am considering getting a Donvier Yogurt maker though � Mirielle blabs on at such length about the virtues and pleasures of fresh, preservative-free yogurt that it makes me look skeptically at my cup of Yoplait Lite Yogurt. I looked up the Donvier machine on Amazon and it seems pretty easy � all you need is milk and a little plain yogurt with active culture as a starter. The machine makes 8 cups at a time and you can buy a $15.99 attachment that will turn plain yogurt into �yo-cheese� that can be used in place of cream cheese, mayonnaise, and butter. If I would continue to use it I would probably wind up saving money over the long-haul since the machine is only $39.99 with free shipping. I know that�s a big if, but I will proudly admit that I don�t have a cabinet in the kitchen that is a ghetto of unused small appliances � no dusty bread maker or sad lonely Foreman grill reside in my house, although I did receive an unregistered for ice cream maker as a wedding gift � whether or not it will gather dust in a kitchen cabinet remains to be seen, as currently it is gathering dust with ALL of the wedding gifts in my basement. I do have a toaster oven, a Cuisinart, and a Kitchen Aid stand mixer that all see regular usage � of course it could be argued that they are all multi-purpose appliances. But, looking at the back of the Yoplait yogurt cup, there�s a ton of chemicals in there, which can�t be good for me. I�ll run it by Steve tonight and see what he says. I can already foresee his negativity seeing as his idea of yogurt is Yoplait Whips in flavors like Key Lime and Lemon Cr�me pie, but if I whine long enough he�ll probably give in.

1:48 p.m. - 2006-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie