tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amost done!

So the month of not eating out is winding down. I already know my plans for this weekend (Saturday B-Day party at the in-law�s, Sunday dinner at my parent�s house) so it looks like I�ll make it to the end of the month without any major cheating. I did eat out three times � twice I met friends for lunch (Michelle: California maki, edamame, miso, cucumber salad. Allison: salad bar) and Steve and I did eat at a diner for lunch one Saturday when we were too far from home (lean buffalo cheeseburger, cottage cheese, roesti potatoes, � piece of pie). I�m pretty proud of myself (and Steve because I couldn�t have managed this without him). We�ve made this kind of resolution before and usually broken it in just a few days in with lame excuses. This time we�ve stuck it out and been pleased with the results. I discovered that I�m a better cook than I thought � I tried a number of new recipes and there was nary a dud in the bunch. I think I might have managed to break my addiction to deep fried foods � I did some saut�ing, but nothing completely immersed in hot oil � and it�s been nothing but good for the ol� digestive system. The money I have in my wallet lasts much longer � duh. Even with bigger grocery bills and buying premium quality meats (sorry � the $3.89/lb. meatloaf mix from the fancy grocery is not only tastier but lower in fat than the cheaper stuff from the supermarket, and the Perdue chicken breasts have way less nasty stuff to trim off) I still have more cash. I�m a better planner. Yes, I�ve been giving up most of one day every weekend to cook a big meal that will provide leftovers and often lunchmeat, but I actually find it soothing to putter around in the kitchen. I don�t think we�ll go a full month without a dinner out again because it kind of killed our social life, but I want to make a conscious effort to, when we do eat out, to choose better restaurants. By better I mean restaurants that serve things I can�t make at home, that use artisianal ingredients, or provide a unique dining experience. I don�t want to get sucked in to the trap of going out for a burger or pizza because it�s quick - it�s too easy for me to order the extra beer, add on the french fries, have an appetizer, and sure, bring on the dessert! I�d like our first dinner out to maybe be at Green Zebra where we had a fabulous meal in every respect: healthy, tasty, different (and yes, kind of expensive which is not fabulous but I guess it is expected).

Resolution Diary:
I did weigh myself finally yesterday and I was right about where I thought I�d be, which means I have about 20 lbs. to lose. It�s tough to find a time when there aren�t people around the receiving scale here at work. I�d prefer to weigh myself at the gym when I only have light workout clothes on, but there�s NEVER a time when the scale area isn�t clustered with half naked women, and the gym stupidly put in a digital scale that has the display where everyone can easily see it - since I don�t feel like broadcasting my weight I�ll just have to skulk around the scale here at work and take off 5 lbs. for clothes & shoes.
Exercise yesterday: 1 hour pilates class. Quite honestly I�m not sure that my weekly hour of rolling around on the floor is doing much good. I know there are celebrities that swear by pilates, but I imagine that they�re doing it more than once a week. Maybe for my birthday next month I�ll look into a package of private pilates lessons at one of the local studios, or I could just buy a pilates dvd and use my own yoga mats in front of the tv.
Dinner yesterday: I wasn�t feeling very well last night so I ate just a little spaghetti and a meatball and a little salad. No wine, no dessert.
Breakfast today: same ol�, same ol��. Coffee w/milk, small V8, lite yogurt.
Lunch: 3 rice cakes smeared with lo-fat peanut butter, an apple. Note to self: next time splurge for the extra .20 and buy the name brand rice cakes - the grocery store house brand ones come pre-crumbled in the sleeve which is not conducive to the peanut butter smearing.
Snack: an orange

4:12 p.m. - 2006-01-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie