tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For the Love of Yogurt

Sorry I was absent yesterday � I took my mom to her first chemo appointment and had to leave work at noon.

Is it possible to fall in love with a yogurt? I�ve been eating a lite yogurt almost every weekday mostly because it�s filling, doesn�t have many calories, tastes OK, and it�s a good source of calcium. The full-fat versions of Yoplait, Dannon, or even Stoneyfield Farm don�t do much for me so I figured I might as well stick to the low-cal version. Until Wednesday. After my spin class I went to a small grocery store with Megan to do some shopping and I spotted FAGE � Total Authentic Greek Yogurt. I was intrigued because I could see through the mostly clear packaging that it didn�t look watery (a major gross-out for me) and it had a separate part of the container that housed the mix-in �flavor� portion � strawberry or cherry preserves or honey � and this little packaging quirk sucked me right in, because I�m all about nice packaging. Both Megan and the produce guy told me that �it�s the best!� so I figured what do I have to lose? I tried it the next morning and it is the best � oh my god it�s the best EVER. Unfortunately, like most foods that elicit that response, there�s a reason. Fat. Unlike my no-fat, 100 calorie Yoplait Light �n� Fit, the FAGE has 190 calories for the fruit versions and a whopping 250 for the honey � and 110 of those calories are fat calories. Is this stopping me? Hell no! I figure it�s good for me and it�s way more natural than the major brands � the only ingredients are milk, cream, active yogurt cultures (the less said about these the better), and whatever the flavoring is. This is a yogurt of dessert quality. A yogurt that has me willing to spend 10 more minutes at the gym to work off an additional 100 calories on the elliptical trainer. If I was a poet I�d write an ode to this yogurt - maybe a few lines about how I had never before eaten a yogurt as tasty as a cr�me brulee, or something like that. This yogurt has me wondering if this is what I could produce with a Donvier yogurt maker (yup � I�m back on that bandwagon). Enough about all this now � if you see FAGE at your local independent grocer, give it a try.

I�m meeting Alli tonight down at Needless-Markup because they are having some sort of beauty event where the spending of a low-low $85 will get me a tote-bag filled to the brim with wee samples (that�s small samples � not samples of wee, which would be something very unlikely for N-M to give away unless it was purported to make your skin look like the skin of a 16year-old) of a myriad of beauty products. I think there�s also some sort of Trish McEvoy Bonus Buy (or Boner Buy as Steve�s sister refers to them) too, so between the two freebies I should come out alright. Nothing lifts my spirits like miniature beauty products. And tomorrow I can look forward to a new, non-crusty mascara which should also be a good thing.

Speaking of tomorrow, I�m going to the archery range with Megan. I bet I�ll suck beyond belief. Steve had to unearth my archery bag from some crevasse in the basement and it was covered in dust, so that should give you a little hint as to how long it�s been since I plucked the string. Saturdays at the range always used to be busy � Scout troops, hunters honing their skills � but I�m hoping we get there early enough to have a little space to ourselves so I can get situated. Archery does not lend itself well to the �Whoops!� moments as you might imagine. Hilarity does not ensue. I�ll be sure to post on Monday and let you know how many Scouts I accidentally take out.


Resolution Diary:
Exercise Wednesday: 1 hr. spin class
Exercise last night: 100 calories on the elliptical trainer, 1 hr. pilates class
Dinner Wednesday: Roast pork, mac �n� cheese (homemade), salad, glass of red wine, Chubby Hubby ice cream for dessert
Breakfast yesterday: greek yogurt � strawberry
Lunch yesterday: chicken salad, bread
Snack: apple
Dinner yesterday: meatloaf, peas, more mac �n� cheese, glass of red wine, Chubby Hubby
Breakfast today: greek yogurt � honey
Lunch: chicken salad, bread
Snack: orange
Reading: �The Cliffs of Despair� by Tom Hunt. It�s about the inordinate (500+ since 1965) number of suicides at Beachy Head in England.

1:49 p.m. - 2006-03-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie