tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

D.O.G.


Today was a momentous day at the House of Technophobes. I bought a new computer. My two technical gurus both independently recommended the same Mac to me so I figured they know me well and wouldn�t steer me wrong. Plus they both told me that my laptop was old enough to be considered a glorified paperweight. The new one should arrive next week. Now don�t go expecting some sort of souped-up journal template or embedded pictures or anything like that � those sorts of things require actual technical knowledge. In fact, if it weren�t for the fabulous Ms. �Bix I wouldn�t even know how to add in links.

Speaking of links, go check out Mike�s journal for a most excellent rhyming description of the Weetapie Con sleigh ride. True talent at work!

Last night Alli came over for dinner. She�s about five months into her pregnancy and she�s really starting to show. It�s weird. I mean, I�ve known other people who have been pregnant but no-one as close to me as Alli. She lifted up her shirt and showed me her tummy at which point I realized that I could never, ever, EVER, have a baby. Yeah, I know � women have been doing it for millennia, my mom had three babies, women do it every day, blah�.blah�blah� Well not this woman. Christ � I was hopping around the bathroom and moaning in pain sympathy when Steve was pouring peroxide on a cut last night � there�s no way I could deal with things like stitches down there by my Ya. Shudder. If I could be part of some sort of medical test where I could have a litter of puppies or kittens then sign me up, but I�ll pass on the wrinkly, pink, miniature Winston Churchill (someone once pointed out that all new babies look like him).

I�m taking the d.o.g. to the vet tomorrow. She�s not sick or anything, I just need to establish her as a client at my vet so they will sell me the prescription food that she needs to eat. I could keep going to her current doctor but the one time I was there to pick up a case of food I just didn�t get a good vibe from the office staff. Plus it�s easier if she goes to the same doctors as the cats. Tomorrow I want to get a guesstimate on how old she is. Is it completely awful to hope that she really is older than dirt and is in her sunset years with limited time left? I mean she�s easy as far as dogs go (in fact we refer to her as The UnDog) and she doesn�t bother the cats, but she is extra work and responsibility that I just do not have the time for right now (and Steve doesn�t particularly like dogs to begin with). Ugh � and I have to schedule Matty for the groomer again � her hair grows even faster than mine. I addition to looking shaggy she�s also getting a little smelly. I�d give her a bath in the tub but I�m afraid I�d get water in her ears and aggravate her chronic ear infections. I think I heard somewhere that you can stuff cotton into dog�s ears to help keep water from leaking in � is that true? I should know this � the shelter where I do volunteer work holds charity dog washes twice a year and in the 11 years I�ve been volunteering there I�ve probably washed over three hundred dogs � but honestly when we wash the dogs at the shelter it�s more of a quickie than an real bath and we don�t have time for pleasantries like cotton in their ears.

Resolution Diary
Exercise yesterday: 150 calories (15 minutes) on the elliptical trainer and a 1 hr. of pilates class.
Dinner yesterday: exactly as I planned except instead of the Oberweis ice cream pie we had a chocolate mousse pie that was very underwhelming. So underwhelming in fact that I may just throw away the leftovers, because why eat shitty cake?
Breakfast: cherry Greek yogurt � the cherry mix-in is very much like the chopped cherry jam that Weetabix loves.
Lunch: Campbell�s Golden Butternut Squash soup, 3 grainy crackers, 1 orange. I so desperately want to go out for a toasted tuna sub at my local independent sub shop, but I know I�m eating out tonight so I shouldn�t. Plus I have to go to Target at lunch and that�s in the opposite direction of the sub shop.
Snack: apple.
Reading: slogging through �The Cliffs of Despair�. Someday I�ll be finished with it.

4:29 p.m. - 2006-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie