tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I love you guys.....

Ugh � what a day. I knew deep inside when I stayed home from work on Thursday and Friday that I was just postponing the inevitable. Today was a major cryfest. I was doing so well over the weekend that I thought I�d be OK, but as each of my co-workers came up to me I started to blub all over again. Because I work at a family business � my family�s business in fact � many of my co-workers know my mom from company functions and parties so their condolences were more personal. I also got a few e-mails from close friends and some phone calls as well � I cried so much I practically dehydrated myself. Last night was tough too because I told Alli. I had held off telling her because she and Mike were headed to Vegas on Thursday and not that I think I�m the center of the universe, but I didn�t want Alli to be sad � for me or for my mom � on her trip. This was the trip that Steve and I were supposed to go on, but luckily the plane fares were too high because of the Final F0ur. How shitty would that have been? I know my dad and he would have told me to go and (try to) enjoy myself but I would have been like a great black cloud over Vegas.

In addition to blubbing all day long I had to try to arrange a schedule for my Aunt Pam and cousin Lorraine who are coming over on Tuesday. My brother from Texas is coming up on Thursday with his family so I had to try to fill the time that hasn�t already been scheduled with 2 dinners out (one with 12 people, the other with 10) divide their time equally between me and my siblings and my dad so that they would be able to get out and enjoy Chicago while they are here. I also had to make arrangements with my sister-in-law to schedule some time so she could help me go through my mom�s things to pack up for distribution/donation (my dad is determined to not be one of those creepy people who keeps their spouse�s possessions exactly as they were while she was alive). I was going to go to the gym, but since I didn�t have time for lunch and I had a splitting headache by the end of the day I figured I�d just go home, which is where I am now.

The one bright spot today? I came home and my friends from the Green Bay mini-con had sent me a lovely bouquet of orchids � just the burst of beauty and color and freshness that I so very much needed. I am so deeply touched by every one of my cyber-friends (man that sounds 90�s) who has reached out and sent me an e-mail or a diary note. I can�t even tell you how much the thoughts, prayers, advice and well wishes have helped me over the past two months and especially these last couple of days. It really is a community out there.

I figure I�ll let myself do what I need to do for the rest of the week and then I�ll start back in on the Resolution Diary a week from today. I thought I�d loathe keeping it, but I actually enjoy the formula of keeping track of what I eat/do/read. Plus it keeps me coming back five days a week because if I go too long I start to forget what I�ve put in my mouth and we can�t have that, can we? I haven�t been eating too much, but I haven�t been going to the gym either. I am reading a book � The Secret History of the Pink Carnation, by Lauren Willig � it�s a cute, diversionary send up of a romance novel loosely based on the historical spies The Scarlet Pimpernel and the Purple Gentian. I also watched A History of Violence (required MUCH suspension of disbelief, but Viggo Mortensen looked pretty good), and The Constant Gardener, which I loved - that Ralph Fiennes sure does the romantic leads like a champ.

Time to go � I�m going to make a grilled cheddar sandwich and plunk down in front of My Window To The World (the tv) and try to find something mindless and cheery.

6:36 p.m. - 2006-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie