tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hats off!

I believe that today will be the big day to investigate the health club that�s only three blocks away. I think I�ll go straight home from work today and head over to see a membership representative. I suppose I should call and make an appointment first � that would be the responsible thing to do. Otherwise I�m likely to walk over to the club and then get unreasonably pissed that the membership rep is with someone and has two other appointments waiting. Sometimes I�m my own worst enemy.

Steve and I took advantage of the lovely weather last night and went for a bike ride. It probably wasn�t the brightest idea in the world to make the second bike ride of the year a 14 mile round-tripper, but hey, we have the Tour de Donut to get ready for. We probably ruined the health benefits of the ride by stopping for dinner at a Thai place at the midway point, but I suppose it�s better than just sitting on the couch and dialing for Thai delivery. I was smart and changed out of work clothes into a pair of sweat pants and a miracle fiber top, but Steve figured it would be ok if he stayed in his jeans for the ride. Bad idea. He had a few chafing issues in a very private place. Looks like no nooky for awhile.

I have a hair appointment this weekend and I�m considering trying to squeeze in a massage too, or maybe a pedicure (or maybe both if I can squeeze them in). My Green Bay pedi is nearly grown out and I have grown to like the look of flashy silver toenails. Since I�ll be near the Magnificent Mile of shopping, I need to scout around for a hat to wear to a Derby Day party. I�d love to buy a really singular Phillip Treacy or Eric Javitts creation (and I�m sure I�ll see some at Saks or Niemans), but in reality since I�m looking for something a bit over the top I should probably go vintage so I can find something both fun and reasonably priced. Mike, being from Lexington and having the inside track on Derby info, assures me that the one true thing I have to keep in mind is size. Derby hats, like Ascot hats, are supposed to be B-I-G. That I can handle � I just have to think Southern Belle.


New Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday: 1 � hour bike ride
Dinner: split two appetizers (thai lettuce wraps and shrimp pocket thingys), pad see something-or-other with vegetables. No booze, no dessert.
Breakfast: bagel, cream cheese, tomato slices
Lunch: chicken tortilla wrap and a handful of crappy tortilla chips.
Reading: Good Grief, by Lolly Winston. The book I just finished was Prep, by Curtis Sittenfeld

4:55 p.m. - 2006-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie