tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got my drugs!

Hooray! The doctor gave me meds! She gave me a sample of some sort of nasal spray and a prescription for AllegraD. It�s working, but I can tell it�s wearing off now because my ears are starting to hurt and I can feel the pressure in my skull. My daily dose is at 5pm � I hope it doesn�t get much worse before then. If I don�t feel better by next week I�m supposed to call back and she�ll give me some antibiotics. I have a feeling that this infection is pretty bad so I imagine I�ll calling her back next week, but I�ll stay hopeful (and patient) that it will clear up on it�s own.

Our receptionist at work is on vacation this week so that means I �get� to do a two hour shift each day answering the phones and stamping mail. Very exciting, and certainly one of the things I looked forward to while I was at Northwestern University. Yes, I thought, the best way to use my ridiculously overpriced education would be to sub as a receptionist. Of course, it�s not like I studied to do what I�m doing for my regular job anyway. At least because of the cold my voice doesn�t sound like me so nobody recognizes me. I just looked at the keyboard I�m using and it�s utterly filthy � the letters are all grey and there�s all kinds of dust and crumbs underneath them. Ew � what I wouldn�t give for a can of compressed air. I�m sure my keyboard is grody too, but it�s my grody and that makes a world of difference.

The big animal shelter fund-raiser is this weekend. It�s a little walk-a-thon � nothing like the huge Anti Cruelty Bark in the Park walk which draws something like 3,000 people, but it is our biggest fund raiser of the year. I signed up to work at it before having my melt-down at the shelter, but since Megan is the chairperson she�s not letting me off the hook. I have to brew coffee in the wee hours on Saturday morning and bring it with me to the walk, I man the registration booth, and when the walk has kicked off I go and count the $$ with our treasurer. Other than the hell of getting up at the crack of dawn it�s not so bad. I�d bring Matty along, but I think it would be like one of the levels of Dante�s Inferno for her. I suppose being very small (18 lbs.), completely deaf, and mostly blind would leave me feeling pretty helpless in a pack of overexcited dogs too. She�s happiest just sleeping on her rug, she likes to have her head scratched, and she seems to enjoy being held.

Sorry � another shortie today, but the damn phone keeps ringing.

Resolution Diary:
Exercise: I�m dying to try out the new gym, but the body is unwilling.
Dinner: One slice of bread w/ olive oil, small house salad, veal & spinach filled ravioli-esqe things. I only ate half because I have no appetite.
Breakfast: small banana
Lunch: my leftovers from last night
Snack: 2 mini chocolate bars
Reading: I started Light In August by Faulkner, but it might be better to put it down and read something lighter. All the meds make me sleepy and I�m not really following the book too well.

4:22 p.m. - 2006-05-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie