tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mom's Day trepidation

It is absolutely freezing here in Chicagoland. In fact, we may reach a new low temperature record for this date in May. I think we just have to go down to 43 deg. and we�re all set to be the new recordholders. I�m feeling like a bit of a smartypants for not planting my tomatoes because surely if I had they�d be shriveled up little sticks by now. I believe I�ve heard that you have to wait until after Mother�s Day to plant tomatoes; it may be an old wive�s tale but I�ve been following it for years and never gotten burned (or frozen as the case may be).

There�s an off-site board meeting today so all the �wigs are away from the building (don�t ask why I�m not at the board meeting for my family�s business � it�s a long and complicated story), so I took the opportunity to wear forbidden jeans to work. It�s kind of retarded that I can�t wear jeans to work anyway seeing as I have come into contact with a customer only once in the 4 or so years that I�ve been in my current position and if memory serves me, the customer was wearing jeans. I�d never wear ratty jeans anyway � only nice dark jeans like the fantastic Target/Mossimo �skinny� jeans I�m wearing right now. But, I suppose it�s the thin edge of the wedge theory � if they let us wear jeans before you know it we�ll be walking around in Old Navy pajama bottoms and flip flops. That�s a dress code I could totally get behind � there�s plenty of blustery Sundays where I stay in my �jammies bottoms all day and just toss on a comfy sweater (not if I have to leave the house of course � I don�t need the neighbors thinking I�m a crazy-lady but I think I�ve already shot that right in the foot because I think all the neighbors have seen me in my �jammies AND my quik-dry hair turban when I�m letting the dog out � so sexy).

My brother from El Paso is in town for the board meeting which is nice because that means someone is at the house with my dad. He says he sometimes still just expects to see my mom come through the doorway. Sunday � Mother�s Day is going to be hard. I�m going to Steve�s sister�s house for a BBQ, but it will be weird with all the mom-oriented hoopla and no mom of my own. It�s funny � in year�s past I never gave any of the media bombing and advertising overload a second-thought but this year every time I hear a cheesy ad about buying some awful piece of jewelry or sending the special mom�s day bouquet I get kind of sad. In some ways it�s starting to make me see the error of my family�s crematory ways � if you (as I like to crassly put it) toast �em and toss �em, there�s no place to go to �be� with your loved one and I think I�d like to spend some time on Mother�s Day near my mom.

Ok, that�s enough. I�m getting weepy and it presents a bad company image if the receptionist is weeping at her desk.

Resolution diary:
Exercise: not yet.
Dinner last night: because my brother is in town I had to go to Ruth�s Chris steak house. This may sound like a treat to some, but I just don�t like steaks. I always hoope for a decent fish-of-the-day, but last night was halibut which isn�t flakey enough for me. So, I had the filet � butterflied and medium-well (I�m sure the chef rolls his eyes whenever my order comes in) of which I only ate about 1/3. We had a medley of sides and I had: � broiled romato, a spoonful of saut�ed spinach, three mushrooms, a latge tongful of cottage fries and one onion ring. I had some of Steve�s ice cream pie for dessert (Oberweis is better) and I had two glasses of red wine.
Breakfast: sesame bagel w/ cream cheese
Snack: � cake-style donut
Lunch: PB&J, small bag o� chips, pickle spear.
Reading: Still need to scrounge up a book � I�m making an effort to go to bed earlier to shake this awful sinus infection.

3:57 p.m. - 2006-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie