tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Matty in da' house!

So, today is Take Your Dog to Work Day, and since it�s Friday it�s also I Don�t Give a Damn, I�m Wearing Jeans Anyway Day. Matty is utterly confused by the turn of events that have brought her to this strange place today (I have the same thoughts, but I have them everyday), not really sure where to be or what to do. She spent the first couple of hours standing nervously behind me, but now she�s relaxed enough to lie down. Unfortunately she chose to lie down directly behind my chair so I�m trapped at me desk unless I want to roll over one of her tiny appendages. I�m a quandary about her food. Since she doesn�t seem to like the dog food she�s been prescribed (really, it smells pretty repulsive so I can�t blame her) I�ve started to give her bits of what I�m eating to supplement her intake. Today she had some bagel, a bite of banana, and some goldfish crackers. At home I sprinkle dry cat food on top of the wet food (sort of like jimmies) and that seems to work sometimes. When she�s at the vet today I�m going to ask about moving her off of the dog food and maybe I�ll start cooking for her. I can brown lean ground beef and mix it with rice or steam some chicken breasts. Shut up � even I�m rolling my eyes at the thought of doing more cooking for the dog than I do for me and Steve, but if it will help her gain back some weight then I�ll give it a whirl. I hope that whatever the prognosis is� I don�t know, I just don�t really want to go through what I had to go through with my mom all over in canine form.

So, to get to the Architectural Asshats party tonight is going to be tricky. I have to get out of here at 4:15, race to my catsitting job* to scoop poop and dole out meds and food, race to the vet, race to pick up Steve�s sister (and this one has me backtracking slightly too), race home to drop off the pooch, race to Alli�s to pick up her and other-Paula, and then race to Architectural Asshats where I will dive headfirst into the kiddie-pool filled with ice and beer. I hate nights like this � the party better be fun.

� I know, I�m a little long in the tooth to be doing catsitting, but these are friends of my parents � very wealthy friends of my parents � and I have foisted two of their three cats onto them. Plus, since one of the cats needs meds and also has a tendency to poop on the floor near, but not in, the litterboxes they know these are situations I can handle. The job comes with great perks too � they leave me the keys for both of their swanky Mercedes because they don�t want them sitting for three weeks and they usually bring me back some fabulous European-only perfume from the duty-free shop. When it�s all said and done, the pay ain�t so bad either. The last time I did this the check was embarrassingly large � enough to buy me, mmmm say two nice pairs of Manolos (although that�s not what I did with it � I bought art).

That�s all gotta run to the vet � keep your fingers crossed for Matty � she�s had a shitty enough life as it is.

Resolution Diary:
Dinner yesterday: pasta with meat sauce, broccoli rapini, a slice of Italian bread, (finally) a glass of wine.
Breakfast: bagel with cream cheese
Lunch: banana, � packet of goldfish crackers
Snack: nada
Reading: Death in the Garden.

4:11 p.m. - 2006-05-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie