tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baby shower blues

I went to the gym last night and it almost killed me. I suppose that�s what I get for slacking off entirely for over a month. I did a half hour on the elliptical and for about 20 minutes of that time I was positively gasping. Despite the less than stellar workout, I dig the new gym � no spandex-clad co-eds to make me feel sub-par, and there�s a track that runs around the main floor so I can watch the runners while I use one of the machines. Yesterday there was cute-ish hipster guy jogging (I swear he was wearing pinstriped track pants � where would one even find pinstriped track pants?) around, so every couple of minutes I was treated to his artfully messy yet carefully peroxided haircut ambling by. There are tv�s that I could tap into, but hipster guys win over depressing news by a mile. Today if the rain holds off I�m going to go rollerblading with Megan on the bike path. If not I�m headed to spin class where I will most certainly have a coronary and die. Let�s hope the sun stays shining.

I�m anxiously awaiting a call from the vet who will have the results of Matty�s very expensive blood test. She�s been a good pup the past few days � her appetite seems to have bounced back a bit and she�s eating her disgusting canned food although I do have to resort to sprinkling the cat food and cat treats on top to initially get her interested. I�m going to brown some ground beef for her tonight and mix it with some rice � hopefully she�ll like this better. She has a grooming appointment at Ruff Haus on Saturday and I�m sure she�ll look ghastly-thin when all her curls have been lopped off. I�ll have to explain to the groomer that really, we are NOT starving her, because I don�t want to end up on an episode of Animal Cops looking like an asshat who doesn�t feed their dog. Note: the vet called me back � they won�t have the results for about another week, but I do owe $190- for the test and the exam so I�ll have to stop by tomorrow with a check so I don�t look like a deadbeat. I think she charged me extra because she had to stick her finger up Matty�s pooper to check for anal polyps � I don�t think I�ve ever seen Matty�s eyes wider than they were during the polyp check.

I have to go to a baby-shower on Saturday for Alli and her future-baby. It�s a couples shower and although it�s my personal belief that no straight man should ever have to ooh and ahh over booties I did agree to attend. Steve is a little concerned because I think that we�re the only people invited who: a.) don�t have our own kids, and b.) aren�t part of the group of Mike and Alli�s friends who will make up the rest of the people in attendance. I told Steve I�d stick by him like glue and that he could get plowed if he wants and I�ll drive him home. I�ve gone a bit haywire in gift buying because although I�m not much of a baby-person I like to shop and I think baby stuff is cute. I think I�m also invited to a secondary shower for Alli that will be thrown by a cousin and that�s a good thing because it would be an embarrassment of riches if I gave Alli all the stuff I bought at one shower. I think I�ll give her the �bling� gift at this weekend�s shower � it�s a video baby monitor so she can both hear and watch her tot as she sleeps. The other gifts are a Stixx baby bowl, a Swaddle Me swaddle thing, and a hand-knit baby hat. I saw the most awesome mod bentwood baby highchair at a local Swedish shop, but I think that might be overkill since I think they are only planning on having the one tot. I could see springing for that if they were planning a brood but it�s a bit dear for just the one � I need to save my pennies for when I buy her a custom-made prom dress or for her first trip to the Stila make-up counter or when I introduce her to the joys of shoe shopping.

Ta ta � off to hack up a lung while I rollerblade�.

4:24 p.m. - 2006-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie