tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neighborhoodie

I�m officially a neighborhood geek. Steve and I went to our first CAPS (Chicago Alternative Policing Strategy) meeting. Basically it�s just a glorified Neighborhood Watch meeting, but we did get to meet our local beat cops and the district Sergeant, and have free sandwiches and cookies provided by a nearby Potbelly�s. We had a guest speaker who talked about identity theft and there was a paper shredder giveaway � so very, very exciting. The three ongoing topics were the rats behind the local Tastee Freeze/Dairy Bar (now I�m really glad I haven�t ever gone there), the motorcycle repair �shop� in some guy� garage in my alley (hey � I LIKE that guy � he keeps and eye on what�s going on up and down the alley � who cares if he leaves some assorted nuts and bolts scattered around?), and the ongoing �Quality of Life� issues from the ever-noisy church across the street. Father Terry came in at the end of the meeting to discuss some of their strategies for reducing the noise such as doubling the hall rental fee from $500 to $1000 and upping the deposit to $250 which the renters wouldn�t get returned if there was a noise complaint and garbage left strewn about the property. Fr. Terry said most of the problems come from rentals to non-parishioners so if the problems keep up he�ll just stop renting to outsiders. I hope this solves the problem because the party they had last Saturday night had booming music until about midnight and then some sort of fight broke out in front of the church around 12:45 am. I know, I know � I�m young (ish), I should be out myself at midnight on a Saturday, but in truth I�m usually home, in bed and wishing I could be sound asleep.

PS � Spikenheimer � I was only joking about having to haul me around to every Half Price Books in the greater Minneapolis area. We got our own this spring � in fact, I think I might hit it on the way home to check out the used CD�s. If I came up I�d bring my �blades and we could go skating. C�mon�.whadda you say?

3:09 p.m. - 2006-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie