tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everybody, it's fiesta time!

What�s this? A rare weekend update you say? Do tell!

Actually it�s because I spent a completely boring Friday evening and I feel compelled to share. On my way home I picked up my car from it�s 10,000 mile check-up. $75 seems a bit steep for some random stuff I could have had done at a Jiffy Lube for $29.99, but whatever. I suppose they used their �special� computers to check out the �special� hybrid guts of my car, making the additional $45.01, somehow, worth it. How sad is it that my brain has not yet kicked into full functionality (because I have yet to have a cup of coffee) and I had to use a pocket calculator to do the simple Car Dealer vs. Jiffy Lube math? Almost as sad as the fact that I am unlikely to get any coffee unless I actually get dresses and go to a Starbucks because, even after 4 years of ownership, I still do not know how to use the coffeemaker. That�s how sad.

After picking up my car I went and had Alli�s gifts wrapped at Paper Source where I also dropped another ball o� cash because they have so many doodads that appeal to me. What? Printed tin bug pins? Gimme the whole set! A keychain flask? Never mind the naughty implications (not to mention the illegality) of drinking and driving � I must have it! You can see where this scenario went. After the denuding of my wallet I went next door to a fancy food place and bought things like overpriced tuna salad, fancy flavored seltzers, hunks of gooey cheese, and some assorted salads so that I could have sustenance for my weekend sans Steve.

I continued on my way and headed to Alli�s house so I could let out their slobbering beast (oops � I mean dog) before he soiled his crate. Mike and Alli were at some sort of baby-oriented class � something about breathing or pushing no doubt � so they couldn�t come home to let Lucky out and give him his dinner. Enter Paula, pet-sitter supreme. Fresh off a month of taking care of three litterbox challenged cats, I was up to the task. Actually, Lucky�s not so bad � he�s just so darn enthusiastic, and he shows that enthusiasm by shoving his nose into my ya area. But again, truly not much of a problem and I was in and out in under 15 minutes. Another 10 minutes and I was home.

Now, home at 6:30 and what to do? I am utterly ashamed by the ensuing chain of events. I immediately put on some pj pants, made myself a sandwich on crusty Italian bread and plodded onto the couch where I watched TiVo until I fell asleep. I woke up on the couch at 7 this morning with a cat on my head and my bra practically embedded into my flesh. It must have been a restful sleep though because my scuffie slippers were both still on my feet.

Now it�s 8:30 and I�m restfully sipping a grapefruit seltzer and looking cheerfully out the window at the cold, rainy, dreary day. Dismal weather isn�t usually a cause for rejoicing, but the church across the street is scheduled to have their Grande Fiesta today and I�m hoping the less than festive cold front dampens everyone�s enthusiasm for eating tamales and elotes and listening to bass-heavy Latin music at window rattling decibel levels.

8:41 a.m. - 2006-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie