tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Americana

I am so unmotivated to just about anything � it�s pathetic. Luckily I�m taking tomorrow off to have a spa day with Alli so she can get prettied up before having the baby, and then I get both Monday and Tuesday for the Fourth of July holiday. I�m hoping that lots of fun things to do and sleeping late every morning will rejuvenate me. Actually my holiday starts a bit early today � if you count leaving work early to go to the dentist as holiday worthy. I know some people absolutely hate going to the dentist but my teeth are pretty good so I don�t mind so much. As a kid I remember trips to the doctor were few and far between, mostly when vaccinations were required by the school system, because I was extremely healthy. The dentist, however, was a twice a year ordeal, the next visit always booked before leaving the office from the current. I haven�t always liked the dentist � the childhood fluoride treatments made me gag nonstop and the hygenist at the place I used to go was known for �pinging� the floss straight down into my gums with an almost maniacal glee, all the while chit-chatting to me in a one sided conversation about seeing my brothers (whom she knew from school) out and about in town. Plus my wonderful childhood dentist (he used to squirt his hygenists with water from the water-squirter when they walked past a room he was in � I�m sure he�d be sued for sexual harassment now, but it�s hilarious when you�re seven years old) had retired and sold his practice to a rather glum dentist with the chair-side manner of a mortician. About 12 years ago (oh how time flies) I needed an expensive procedure (four veneers on my top front teeth to correct the darkening caused by childhood root canals resulting from a horseback riding accident � there�s a story for another time) and I decided to find a new dentist because if I was going to be coughing up thousands of dollars it might as well at least be to someone whom I like. I settled on my current dentist because he played paddle tennis (also known as platform tennis) with my dad, and my dad said he was a nice guy. So long story short � new, nice, mostly pain-free dentist that I actually don�t mind going to see.

Tomorrow I don�t get to sleep in � I have to take the wee doggie in to the vet for her weekly blood test to see how the meds are working. I suppose I have a couple of hours to kill after the vet and before heading down to the salon/spa and I could go back to bed, but that seems a little indulgent. So that�s how I�m starting off my busy, busy weekend. Because nothing blogworthy has happened to me recently I guess I�ll be reduced to cataloging my weekend itinerary. Saturday morning I think Steve and I are going to try to go for a bike ride � we need to log some miles to shape up for the Tour de Donut. Saturday afternoon I think we�ll head out to the American Music Fest at Fitzgerald�s in Berwyn and we�ll probably stay there for the rest of the day. Sunday I�ve heard that there may be one or two people in town who might just invite me out for shopping/dining/drinking/dancing. Monday I think we�re invited to a friend�s new condo that will have a great view of the big Chicago fireworks show for a BBQ. Sunday there�s a BBQ at my brother�s country club. Busy, busy bee. Hopefully there will be something exciting that happens at one of these events to write about next week.

1:10 p.m. - 2006-06-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie