tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An entry where I bitch and moan about money

Steve and I are hitting the Very Expensive part of finishing the house. Coming expenses include:

Flooring for the entire 1800 sq. feet
Drywall & drywall install guys
Paint
Bathroom Fixtures
Kitchen sink & faucet (I have very expensive taste in waterworks)
Kitchen countertop

Thankfully I think I have enough saved up. Although I hated the cash outlay five years ago for the kitchen cabinets and appliances, I�m glad that it�s out of the way because although I have quite a wad saved up I don�t have an extra $30K laying around and I think that�s about the combined cost of the cabinets, dishwasher, refrigerator, and stove. Ouch. Last month�s expenses included the furnace and air conditioning for our part of the house and then, surprise!, the furnace for the downstairs crapped out necessitating an unplanned $3500. Sometimes I think it might be easier and cheaper to just buy a tract house in the �burbs.

Food blog:
Dinner last night: a landjaeger & five-year-old cheddar sandwich and a large oatmeal-raisin-pecan cookie. Not the best choice, but at least no booze-calories.

Breakfast: coffee & banana

Lunch: I�m indulging my primitive side and having steak tartar. You�d think that since I won�t touch even a medium-rare steak or burger (well-done, brown all the way through, please) that I�d avoid the raw meat like the plague (or perhaps avoid it like the mad-cow?) but I guess if you�ve been eating something since you�ve had teeth it doesn�t really appear on the disgusting radar. Depending on the soup selection I might have a cup o� as well, or else a small salad. Note: I had a cup of navy bean soup and I stole a few of my cousin�s french fries.

Snack: apple � helps to remove the eau de KalKan breath that tends to linger from the steak tartar.

Exercise: I was at spin last night and man did the music suck. It was, as Megan described it, Men�s Middle-Aged Crisis Cock Rock. Bleh. May I never hear Steppenwolf again. Tonight I�ll hit the gym and try to do half running and half elliptical trainer and then jog home.

3:58 p.m. - 2007-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie