tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I had to do a really shitty thing last night and it�s going to weigh on me. I was at the animal shelter and it was about 20 minutes after closing time. We had already locked the front door and were hanging around in the front lobby with one of the dogs. A family showed up at the door with a cardboard soda box � a bad omen if there ever was one. Reluctantly I opened the door and they thrust the box at me. It contained some fuzzy grass and one mouse-sized infant bunny. They said the other three bunnies in the nest were dead and they were hoping we could save this one. I thanked them for their concern and sent them on their way (after telling them in the future to LEAVE THEM ALONE) and then I did what I had to do � I put the box and the bunny in the chest freezer to die. The bun didn�t look too good and it wasn�t even old enough to have its eyes open. Without the mom bunny to warm and feed it, it had basically no chance � rabbits are notoriously hard to nurse even in the best of situations and this was not that. I know I did, if not the right thing then, the only thing, but I still feel pretty crappy.

There is so much fun to be had this upcoming weekend that I�m afraid that the lame, boring stuff I actually need to do will get forgotten in the great gush of visitors (both friends and family), animal shelter fundraisers, wee doggie grooming appointments (not fun in itself but the accompanying breakfast at Flying Saucer is always pleasurable as is the resulting squeaky clean dog), and belly dancing. Regardless of the fun to be had, some of the tasks cannot be pushed off any further, like planting the tomatoes, herbs and flowers that are sitting patiently in their flats waiting to be put in the earth. That task needs to get done this weekend regardless of what other fabulous things I have going on and somehow I have horrible images of a drunken me dressed in mildly slutty dance club-wear on my knees at 4am (HEY! Get your head out of the gutter), half-heartedly putting plants in random places in my yard.
1 comments so far

2:21 p.m. - 2007-05-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie