tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Product Rodeo

I haven�t blogged about beauty products for awhile so I guess it�s time for a product round-up. Good timing since I had a facial on Sunday and bought some new stuff.

After years of buying toner, never using it and then throwing it away, I had pretty much sworn it off as something I didn�t need. But my aesthetician, Fred, at Chicago Bliss recommended the one that Bliss sells (don�t roll your eyes because he recommended a house-brand � he also suggests non-Bliss products for me to use as well). In the past the first image I have of a toner is something like SeaBreeze � very astringent and almost more like an antiseptic household cleaner then a facial product � but the Bliss toner has a nice citrus-y scent and Fred recommended to save product that I just squirt a few drops into my palm (as opposed to applying it to a cotton ball), massage them together and rub the toner over my face. It actually felt moisturizing � almost like a serum. I really like it and compared to some of the other products I�ll be mentioning it didn�t cost an arm and a leg. Tip: If you buy a Bliss gift certificate along with it you get a coupon good for 20% off any Bliss house brands that you buy with it.

Last time I saw Fred I had the Bliss Fat Free Facial because I am the queen of the clogged pores � if I start to get lazy about my facial routine my nose actually looks freckled � ewwwww! Fred spent a good long time doing extractions (bless him�.) and when we were all done he suggested a weekly two-step process to keep my poses cleaned out and tightened up. First he suggested I use the Laboratoire Remede 3-Minute Peel. The price is kind of steep at $125, but I only use it on my T-zone and a little goes a long way so I bit the bullet (I later found it for sale for $37.50 a bottle and I snapped up two to keep in stock). Again, I don�t use a cotton ball (no waste!) and apply the product with my fingertips. It itches like crazy for the three minutes it�s on, but the acids do a great job of getting rid of dead skin cells and tightening up my pores. Next I use the Bliss Sleeping Peel exfoliating mask - a misnomer because you don�t wear it to bed or even for long enough to take a nap � it only takes about 10 minutes. This mask lives up to the claim that it will tighten and brighten and it seems like a bargain at $54, but you only get an ounce and yet use quite a bit more than the 3-Minute Peel. Sort of like how cream cheese is touted to have half the saturated fat of butter, which would be great if I didn�t use five times as much cream cheese as butter. I�ve been using the two-step combo for the past 6 weeks and the difference really is noticeable � the pores on my nose are indeed smaller and cleaner. When I saw Fred for the second time he only had to spend about half the time doing extractions and they weren�t nearly as painful � yay. In fact, there was time left over so he treated me to a complimentary oxygen treatment (it always pays to tip very well and develop a relationship with the people who work on keeping you in tip-top shape � they�ll make room for you in their schedule and sometimes treat you to upgrades and samples). I�m not so sure about the oxygen treatments � they seem like a bunch of bull to me and I can�t see that they make much of a difference, but it certainly isn�t doing any harm and it�s relaxing. Not something I�d recommend paying for but as a freebie it was nice.

As far as daily cleansing of my skin goes I use a facial scrub every other day. I�m almost embarrassed to say who makes it - BeautiControl. My sister-in-law had one of those infernal �parties� and I had to find something to buy � little did I know it would be the best scrub I�ve ever used. Keep in mind that despite the looks of my fragile flower pale skin in reality it�s tough as nails so any scrub that I like has to be a little tough and used regularly it plays a big part in keeping my pores clean. I hate the name though � it sound like what the Nazis would have named their skincare line because it will Control! Your! Beauty! There must be no uncontrolled beauty! I digress�� Then I �gasp- use soap. Granted it�s earthy-crunchy handmade oatmeal complexion soap (no link because it comes as a saran-wrapped cube with no maker information � I buy it at Halsa in Geneva, Illinois and if you�re desperate to try it they will do mail order) but it�s still soap which I think is a no-no. But, it has a great lather, Steve doesn�t find it too girlie to use and my skin feels truly clean when I�m done washing.

Summer sun has arrived in the Midwest and I�ve modified my make-up a little to beat the heat. I was using the Bare Essentials mineral make-up and I do like it (although the Warmth shade that is supposed to be a bronzer makes me look orange no matter how little I use) but after I use my moisturizer with SPF in the morning it just feels like I�m loading on too much product. Plus, with all the exfoliating and skin peeling I�ve been doing it seems like a shame that I�m not showing off my skin. So, I use a smidge of Perfect on my T-Zone and some gel blush on my cheeks. Since the Perfekt is very light and has a creamy moisturizing texture, and the gel blush is very sheer I can achieve the vaunted no-makeup/make-up look. Just whip on some auburn Trish McEvoy mascara and I�m ready to go! Speaking of Miss Trish�s mascara � I can�t say enough good things. The stuff stays on through rain, sweat and tears yet comes off in the shower with a minimum of cleanser. Perfect for a summer wedding!

That�s it � lunchtime is over and you�ve again helped me to stay in, eat fruit at my desk and avoid the dreaded plethora of fast-food options near my office. Thanks!

0 comments so far

1:00 p.m. - 2007-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie