tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yet another diet

I looked at the calendar recently and realized that in exactly two months I will be appearing in front of my husband�s entire family in a bathing suit, so I have decided to really and truly go on a Diet. With a capitol D. I�ve been going to the gym 5-6 days per week for two months now for a minimum of an hour each time � usually more like an hour-and-a-half - and the fact that I�ve had no discernable weight loss points to the fact that perhaps it�s time to begin watching what I�m putting into my mouth. Lord help me because the diet I�ve fixated on happens to be from a back issue of People magazine that I read at the hair salon � how trashy does that sound? There was a feature on women who had all lost large amounts of weight without surgery (nothing against surgery, but I know I�m not even close enough to being a candidate � I would just like to lose the same 25 lbs. that many of us would) and I figured that if it worked so well for them I might as well give one of their methods a shot. So, for at least the next 8 weeks I�ll be eating:

Breakfast: 1 cup of Kashi GO Lean! with a container of lite/low-fat yogurt.

Lunch: Some form of Lean Cuisine (I stocked up today and they have much better choices than the last time I was eating them).

Dinner: A grilled chicken breast on a wheat bun and some steamed veggies.

The woman in People didn�t include a snack, but it didn�t seem like she was much of a gym rat either, so I�m going to allow myself to eat a piece of fruit or a snack-pack of low-fat cottage cheese if I get hungry. I�m also going to allow for one indulgence-day per week because I know that if I try to deny myself totally I�ll go out of my mind. I also might change up the dinner with a large salad or a tofu stir-fry (light on the fry part).

Today was Day One and so far I�ve found that Kashi is similar to what I imagine that lightly sugar coated aquarium gravel would taste like . Back in my very slender days I used to eat a lot of Kix cereal and I have to see if it is still available because it was actually pretty good and the texture was much better � I wasn�t concerned about chipping a tooth like I am with the dry Kashi. A web search turns up the fact that General Mills still makes Kix, but darned if I have been able to find it in my supermarket. The pasta primavera Lean Cuisine that I had for lunch was actually OK. Not great but OK and reasonably satisfying.

This might just work.

4 comments so far

4:37 p.m. - 2007-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie