tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kids like Kix for what Kix has got!

Fudge. I just wrote a page of an entry and it disappeared. Oh well � it happens to everybody at some point so it was bound to be my turn eventually. I think I can recreate most of it.

I looked on the bottom shelf at the supermarket last night and finally found the Kix cereal way down in No-Man�s-Land. Hooray for crunchy puffy goodness that has so few calories I can fill up a quart sized Ziploc bag and munch on it all day long.

Thank you to everyone who e-mailed and commented with suggestions for different cereals and Lean Cuisine varieties that I might like to try. It�s been a long, long time since I have eaten any sort of prepackaged frozen lo-cal meals so steer me in the right direction. Especially the vegetarian direction. I�m no veg, but the chicken/beef/shrimp that is in microwaveable meals tends to unappetizing at best. If I encounter a fat blob it can derail my entire meal. If the blob is big enough, and I bite right into it, I can easily find myself with a one-way ticket to Vomitsville via the Barfmobile. No thanks. At least with vegetables, pasta, or fake meat there�s no chance of gristle. So please � I�ll take any recommendations for any variety of microwaveable lo-cal/lo-fat meal � I don�t care what sort of brand � Lean Cuisine, Linda McCartney, Amy�s Organics, Eating Right � if it tastes good I�ll hunt it down.

Today�s lunch was a Lean Cuisine 3-Cheese Rigatoni with veggies that was actually pretty good and extremely filling. Mike says his boss likes the cheese lasagna and also the pot-stickery things so next time I�m at the store I�ll buy a couple of those. I�m also trying to retrain myself to eat the right way � and by this I mean the actual physical way that I put food into my mouth, masticate, and swallow. I am the youngest child (by 11 years) and I spent most of my formative family eating years competing to get seconds of �the good stuff.� My mom certainly didn�t skimp on portions, but when they were teenagers by brothers were capable of eating massive quantities of food especially if it was something really good like on OreIda French fry night. So, I compensated by eating very quickly. Then when I got older and they were in college I usually ate dinner by myself and I continued to eat quickly. The trend continues to this day and is probably the reason I often find myself stuffed by the end of the meal. If I bothered to eat like a civilized human being instead of like a pack of wild dogs I�d probably fill up before the end of the meal and stop at a sensible point. So, to consciously try to slow myself down I�m making a point of laying down my fork and taking a sip of water between each bite. If today�s lunch is any indication it appears to be working.

Also � bring on the tofu recipes or links to tofu sites. I like tofu as long as it�s not mushy and I know it takes flavor well. I think it�s lo-cal and I know it�s filled with protein. I ordered some from my local organic produce delivery place and it arrives on Friday so I need to think of something to do with it. Can it be barbequed?

And��I�m sure you missed it � I know I have(n�t). It�s the return of the daily food blog!

Breakfast: dry quart of Kix, Strawberry Light �n� Creamy Yoplait yogurt.
Lunch: Lean Cuisine 3-Cheese Stuffed Rigatoni (*** out of a possible 4*�s), 15 small strawberries
Dinner: Grilled chicken breast on a Natural Ovens wheat bun with mustard, handful of raw veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, carrots), 15 small strawberries.
Exercise yesterday: 20 minutes walking, 1 hour Group Power class (dubbed by Wendy as Lifting Weights to Hateful Pop Remixes, then shortened to Weights �n� Hates or just W&H)

Man, that looks really Spartan when it�s written out. I guess that�s what it takes to lose weight. Duh.

0 comments so far

1:57 p.m. - 2007-06-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie