tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too much to do

I would love to do nothing more than sit around the yard this weekend reading one of the zillion books I have piled up but I don�t think that�s an option. Tomorrow I have to go to a baby shower that is 2 hours away for a woman I�ve never even met � one of Steve�s friends knocked her up. Swell. Sunday is the last Belly Dance Class (until the next session starts) and after we have an outing to a Turkish restaurant to see REALY belly dancers. In between these things I have to:

Vacuum the two weeks of accumulated hair off of every surface in the house
Clean the bathroom
Work on the front dirt patch in an attempt to make it look like something other than a dirt patch
Go to the gym once

I think I need a third day this weekend. I hope yours is better than mine.

Breakfast: yogurt, Kix
Here�s a mildly amusing yogurt story. In sixth grade I loved the band The Who almost more than life itself. I could have bored you for hours blithering on about the genius of Pete Townshend, the rock steady bass of John Entwistle, debating the drumming styles of Keith Moon vs. Kenny Jones (Keith wins hands down every time), and waxing rhapsodic about Roger Daltrey�s anguished yet sexy screams on �Love Reigns O�er Me� and �Won�t Get Fooled Again�. Mostly I could wax rhapsodic about how hot I thought Roger Daltrey was. Never mind that I was basing this on publicity photos from the late 60�s and early 70�s and it was now 1982 and by this time ol� Rog was looking a wee bit weather beaten. I suppose it was also a little creepy fantasizing about me, a wee 12 year old, running away to find my dream man who was at that time 38. Since my chances of escaping to London to track him down were slim to none I did the next best thing I could think of � I totally emulated anything about him that I could. I read that in order to take care of his tender and valuable vocal chords he ate yogurt every day, so I dispatched my mom to the grocery to buy me some yogurt. Now 1982 yogurt is not the yogurt of today. Today it�s all about creamy custardy texture and blended in fruit essences, but back then it was totally gross. I remember opening the little tub and mixing up the three distinct layers: the fruit on the bottom, the gluey looking white yogurt, and the nasty liquid that rises to the top. Needless to say I don�t think I even ate a single bite. Even my love for Roger couldn�t overcome the repulsion. Anyway, it was all over two years later when I discovered The Police. God Sting was so hot before he became all tantric and self-righteous. And no I�m not going to see them at Wrigley Field. I bought my tickets and everything but then realized that I had seen them in all their perfection already: the opening show of the Synchronicty tour at Comisky Park where they played with: Simple Minds, The Fixx, Joan Jett, Flock of Seagulls, and pre-metal still-new-wave Ministry. You just can�t beat that memory so I sold the tickets to a friend who has never seen them.
Lunch: Lean Cuisine chicken club Panini (***). They actually managed to make this feel a little bit greasy and it only had 9 grams of fat. Nectarine.
Dinner: I�m on my own for this one because Steve will be at the Sox/Cubs game. I have some tofu in the fridge so I think I might make a little stir fry **UPDATE** So much for the stir fry. I just didn't feel like cooking so I ate a tomato, some roasted mixed mushrooms, and some raspberries and blueberries.
Weight: I�m not going to weigh myself today because I have on jeans and heavy shoes that will artificially inflate me. And in case you�re thinking, �just take off the stinking shoes and get on the scale!,� let me tell you that you do not step on an industrial scale in a machine shop in bare feet � there is all manner of greasy little metal shards just waiting in work their way into my tender footsies. So, I�ll just make sure to wear a skirt on Monday with my ballet flats and weigh in then. I do know that on Wednesday (I know, I know � I swore up and down that I�d only weigh in on Monday and Friday but I felt light on Wednesday) I had dropped a total of 8 lbs. for a final weight of 168. Woot! Under 170!

Exercise: Boot Camp � another hour of military-style calisthenics and some running in the park. Owie. Lucky for me I stocked up on Advil. But, on the up side, Week One is over � only 14 more classes to go.

0 comments so far

2:31 p.m. - 2007-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie