tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No!

So what is the time frame to host a reciprocal dinner party? Since the Mormons next door had us over to dinner I feel that I would be remiss if I didn�t invite them over for a meal. There�s no way I�d let them in the house because our kitchen isn�t quite guest ready. Alli and Mike are fine because their house is in a state of flux too so they understand, but I don�t want to have to share the mess, lack of seating, cat/dog hair, and unfortunately placed litterbox with people who live like regular humans in a normal house. Conveniently we do have a very nice set of outdoor dining furniture so if I can do some advance planning we can have them over for a BBQ and eat outside. Their barky little wiener dog can even come too. Now I just have to schedule it around vacations, weather, and make sure it�s before bee season when the wasps start to get inquisitive and angry. Hmmmm.. much planning to do.

I have a million anti-opposite-of-fun calls to make when I get to the shelter tonight. Most of the calls I take & make involve saying no to people:

No, we do not take wildlife � here�s the number of the place that does.
No, we do not have any small dogs available.
No, we cannot provide free vet care for your animal � vet costs are a responsibility of pet owners and beside we don�t have a vet clinic on site.
No, your 6 year old cannot volunteer, we need volunteers to be a minimum of 16 years old.
No, you cannot bring your unwanted pet in right NOW because:
We do not accept animals from non-residents (it�s their tax-dollars, they make the rules)
We have a (long) waiting list of other like minded people who do not want to keep their �beloved� pets and you will have to wait your turn.
We do not take: guinea pigs/rabbits/hamsters/gerbils/ferrets/birds/reptiles.
Right now there are about 5 �no� calls I have to make, most of them involving a wee Chihuahua we have that is not yet available, yet every volunteer seems to have blabbed to their friends and family that we have it and it is a most wanted dog. The dog just had supremely expensive leg surgery at the local supremely expensive specialty clinic and I�m guessing that she won�t be ready for another few weeks while she recuperates and goes back for more supremely expensive follow-up visits with her surgeon. Sometimes if I�m in a feisty mood I enjoy (very politely) telling people no, but today I�m just kind of tired and wish they would go away all on their very own.


Breakfast: Kix, yogurt � ooh-ooh! I changed the order!
Lunch: Lean Cuisine brick oven style �gourmet� mushroom pizza (quotes are my own) (**1/2) it was OK but certainly not gourmet unless you are consider white button mushrooms to be a strange and wonderful food innovation. But, the frozen lo-cal pizzas at least allow me to feel like I get to eat a slab of carbs and some cheese-esque goo. Blueberries.
Snack: cottage cheese.
Dinner: Buddig corned beef sandwich with no-fat cheddar cheese on a 7-grain bun w/ mustard and two pickle spears wolfed down in the car on the way to the shelter. I know, it�s disgusting, processed, blah, blah, blah. But I love it and it�s one of the few things that I love that isn�t a mass of calories.
Exercise: I had a brief thought of getting up to go to the super-early spin class and then I remembered the exercise zombies and figured that since there was little chance I�d be there in time to snag a Sav-a-Bike card that I�d take a pass. So, no exercise, just the animal shelter.

0 comments so far

4:24 p.m. - 2007-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie