tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dance, dance

After this weekend I feel confident referring to myself as both a Belly Dancer and a runner. I completed the 5K in about 32 minutes (I say �about� because this was a low-key very non-pro kind of race and they haven�t posted times yet � for all I know they may never post them). I ran (jogged) the entire way and at the finish line I felt like I could have actually continued jogging longer/farther. My running pal and I were so excited by our pace and results that we�re looking for more races to do in the upcoming weeks. Considering that mere weeks ago I would have told you that I loathed running this is a pretty good turnaround. See what a little success can do? As for the Belly Dancing, we had two fantastic performances. I�m a little sad to be done with the Dus Bahane routine but now we�ll be moving on to the Arabian Dance from the Nutcracker that we�ll perform at the dance school�s holiday recital. Does every dance school do the Nutcracker at Christmastime? I know the ballet school that I went to as a kid did. I worked my way through several roles: child guest at the party, bob-bon, snowflake, something else I can�t remember, and now I�ll be adding Arabian Belly Dancer to the list. A little voice tells me that no matter how many times I perform in the Nutcracker I�ll never be Clara or the Sugarplum Fairy, but I�m OK with that.

Weekend update:
Saturday:
Breakfast: � bagel w/ light cream cheese, croissant (what can I say to explain away the carb-fest? I had the bagel after the 5k and then stuffed the croissant down post-race on the way to Belly Dance performance #1).
Lunch: 3 roasted chicken wings, small sides of saut�ed squash, roasted potatoes, and pasta salad. Apple Izzy.
Dinner: 5 pcs. super-thin-crust pizza (spinach, margharita, funghi), small side salad. 2 glasses of red wine.
At the Gala where we performed: cheese cube, 8 peanut M&M�s.
Post-performance snack: 1 beer, a couple of nacho chips w/ cheese.
Exercise: ran 5k, two belly dance performances and a couple of run-throughs.
Sunday � a day in which the wheels fall off the wagon a wee bit:
Breakfast: soft boiled egg, slice of toast w/ Promise spread and jam.
Linner: large scoop of chow mein salad, medium scoop of Greek spinach/rice/tomato salad, large grilled chicken tender, baked apple, oatmeal cookie, 1/3 of a small sundae, a few slices of pineapple.
Dinner: � of a small pate appetizer smeared on a dinner roll, fried chicken breast over a scoop of buttermilk mashed potatoes covered in sausage gravy and a side of collard greens, � dessert of chocolate pot au cr�me w/ a scoop of ice cream. Glass of champagne, � glass of port. I have no idea how I was able to shove in this much food in one day � apparently your stomach DOESN�T shrink when you�re dieting.
Exercise: we walked back & forth to dinner ~ 2 miles total.
Today:
Breakfast: yogurt/fruit smoothie, Crispix
Lunch:
Dinner: square of meat lasagna, small caprese salad.
Exercise: Boot Camp, pilates.

0 comments so far

3:32 p.m. - 2007-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie