tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad Music

I have an XM radio in my car and I usually listen to their public radio station � Bob Edwards in the morning and then The World and Marketplace on the way home. Sometimes The World gets too depressing and I listen to music - I�ll surf through my favorite channels to find a song I like. I always go in the same order: 44-FRED, 54- LUCY, 47-ETHEL, 43-XMU, 7-70�s, 8-80�s. I was doing this the other day and on XMU, the �college� station, I heard some absolutely vomitous song by Starship. It wasn�t They Built This City, but something equally horrendous. I figured this was their way of displaying hip irony. You know, hey! this band is so awful they�re kind of cool. I worked at a college radio station � I know how this works. Not wanting to subject myself to the bad music anointed by the hipper-than-thou, I scurried along to the 70�s where I probably listened to a song by the Carpenters. Bad music is ok as long as it knows its place. Then awhile later I surfed and landed again on XMU � this time they were playing Didn�t I (Blow your mind this time) by New Kids on the Block. WTF? I switched to another station and then switched back � maybe there was a satellite error. No, NKOTB were still warbling. I gave up and figured that some asswipe must have hijacked the programming.

Keep your fingers crossed that the shit-tay weather misses Chicago. If it�s crappy (or would that be crap-pay?) on Sunday morning I�m not even going to want to get out of bed let alone bundle up to run 3.2 miles. I�m such a whore for the �free�* t-shirt.

* free is a misnomer. There�s a $30 registration fee, but for some reason I can still convince myself that the t-shirt is �free�. Sure I could go out with that $30, NOT have to run 3.2 miles, and just buy a very nice, serviceable t-shirt. Hell, $30 would probably get me either 2 t-shirts or one really nice t-shirt. But that would be defeating the purpose.

Food Log:
Dinner last night: chicken breast, green beans, roasted potatoes, one cookie.
Breakfast: Kashi bar, lo-fat fruit/yogurt smoothie.
Snack: no-sugar apple/berry sauce.
Lunch: Seeds of Change Vegetarian Chicken/Broccoli/Pasta alfredo. The �chicken� was texturized soy/vegetable protein, small banana.
Exercise: Boot Camp � water workout.

2 comments so far

2:44 p.m. - 2007-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie