tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dashing through the snow

The weather of crappitude � it hath arriveth. It started snowing in earnest about an hour before I left work yesterday and continued all through the night and, indeed, continues even now. I had to chip out the car this morning to drive to Boot Camp � luckily I left myself some extra time. Our fearless Boot Camp leader apparently wasn�t quite so lucky causing him to be about 20 minutes late. His assistant had us run laps on the track with some sprints and high-knees/butt-kick/shuffle/carioca laps to bide the time. I actually enjoy running on the indoor track (12 laps/mile) because it�s short enough that I can occasionally lap some of the really, really slow people. It�s the tiny achievements that keep me going. Oooh! I need to do a product endorsement for my new favorite thing in the world � IB-Relief. It�s a topical pain reliever (mostly ibuprofen) that has some sort of fancy patented delivery system to get the pain reliever to the, um, point of ouchiness. While it hasn�t cured my shin splints it makes them way, way more bearable. The price is steep, $20 for a 2 oz. tube, but I�m willing to shell it out because it actually does relieve the pain and reduce the swelling which in turn makes it not quite so horrible to run. In fact, dare I say it? I�m beginning to enjoy running. I�m not sure that I�ve experienced the much touted Runner�s High, but I get a real sense of accomplishment when I�ve finished a race and sometimes when I�m running I actually feel a surge of energy when a good song comes up on the ol� iPod shuffle. What�s more, as Shakira put it so well, hips don�t lie. The running is really changing the shape of my body � I�m much leaner through the bottom half. Don�t get me wrong, I�m still no skinny-minnie size zero (comfortably in a size 10, thank you), but I can really tell in the way my pants are fitting me now � I have much more room in the hips and buttal region. There used to be a fat-blob above each hip towards my back (I believe they are affectionately called saddle-bags) and I�ve managed to run them into submission. I can now comfortably wear the Pearl Izumi cold weather tights I have in size medium without either a noticeable muffin-top or hip-blobs exposed to jiggle for all the gym to see.

Amusing anecdote from last night�s belly dance rehearsal. The group�s costumes for the Nutcracker came in last week � we have red velvet harem pants with slits on the side from mid-shin to upper-thigh (again, thank you running for shrinking the things that will now be exposed to a paying audience) and jingly coins sewn around the waist and slits, and a red velvet choli, or half-shirt. Our teacher, who has a solo during our number, has a different costume and she debuted it last night. Hoo-boy. Nothing wrong with the long, purple velvet, swirly skirt, but the top! It�s a purple velvet deal that ties under her boobage and I think it exposes much more of said boobage than she expected. I said that it was great � now we could completely suck at our dance and it wouldn�t matter because no-one would be looking at us anyway. It was that revealing. Um, maybe revealing isn�t quite right because nothing really bad was revealed � I think precarious might be a better descriptive word. There is a clear and present danger involving containment of the boobage. All will be made right by the performance date - I think she�s going to alleviate the NC-17ness by sewing in a modesty panel that will cover up the cleavage. Personally I think she should leave it as-is and the dance school should make a new poster featuring her, um, assets � that way they�d be guaranteed a standing-room-only crowd.

Food Log:
Dinner last night: Since the weather outside was frightful and I was the keymaster for the evening at the animal shelter I had to forgo a time consuming stop for something to eat at Whole Foods. I was ravenous when I got home so I wolfed down a PB&J (organic peanut butter & strawberry spread on white), four pretzel rods and two slices of swiss cheese. Not great, but not bad either.
Breakfast: Kashi bar, lo-fat fruit/yogurt smoothie.
Snack: no-sugar apple/berry sauce, 1 oz. pecans.
Lunch: WW Smart Ones Pasta Primavera, small banana.
Exercise: Boot Camp, one hour belly dance class.

0 comments so far

3:23 p.m. - 2007-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie