tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been visited by the snot troll

Well, hello there. I�m not dead after all. Although, truth be told, I feel pretty dead. My head is about 10 pounds heavier than usual because every available crevice is filled with snot. I imagine that I caught this lovely cold on the airplane back from Vegas. That�s right � VEGAS BAY-BEE! Although Vegas leaves a little to be desired when you�re traveling with your entire family. We went for my brother�s 50th birthday (shut-up � he�s MUCH older than me) and it was pretty fun even if I did have to deal with one sister-in-law meltdown, a show I had no interest in seeing (Mama Mia � I�m not such an Abba fan), and my 81 year old dad who is starting to require more and more babysitting.

Christmas was ok � Steve got me a Sony Reader which unfortunately will have to be returned because he�s not so good with the technical stuff and didn�t notice that the device isn�t supported by Mac systems. Oops. I tried to get it operating on my work computer but neither I nor the $80/hour IT guy could make it happen, so I guess it�s a bust. I got him a Garmin Nuvi 350 GPS. Whee! A techie Christmas! Christmas really is for kids � I didn�t get into the spirit of the season at all this year. Maybe next year when the remodeling is finished and I can put up a tree and host a holiday party I�ll be more into it.

Speaking of remodeling, the alarm guy has done his thing and the drywall crew is supposed to start later this week. Steve has worked with Simeon the Drywaller in the past so I�m not getting my hopes up too high that he�ll actually start this week � he�s usually running a little behind schedule. It�s so weird to think that soon I�ll really be living upstairs. I keep picturing my old condo and realizing how much my tastes have changed in the past 5 years. I start thinking about pieces of furniture that have been in storage for five years and wondering if I�m even going to use them. I think that next summer I�m going to have one hell of a yard sale.

Boot Camp started up again. I went on Monday even though I was infected by the cold. The weather was very odd on Monday � I think we hit a record high in the mid-50�s. We did our traditional first day testing outside and I ran about 2-2.5 miles � a mile and a quarter in the 12 minute test (down from my mile & a half, but I�m sick so cut me a break) and the rest jogging to and from the remote track. The class is completely filled with Resolotionists (my name for the people who clog up the gym after New Year�s) � I�m betting 25% of them crap out in a week or two. Hopefully subsequent classes won�t be so full. I think this year they�re going to run classes in a 6-week 3 days per week and then 2 week 5 days per week sessions which is fine with me � the five day a week thing is brutal but it�s good for me. I guess it�s not too popular running in the winter because I�m having a hard time finding 5K races to participate in. Yes, I could go out and run on my own but between you and me that doesn�t work so well. I tend to go out with all the best intentions but if there aren�t other runners around me or someone standing there with a stopwatch in their hand I don�t have the inner motivation. Or at least I didn�t the last time I tried � maybe since I�ve turned over a new leaf I should give it another shot.

Lastly � a note to Simka � If I could figure out a way to take a picture of myself and post it, I would. Sadly I was bypassed by the tech gene. But, since I�m going to the annual Weetabix get-together in a few weeks I�ll make sure that if she gets a good shot of me I�ll forward it on or post a link. In fact, here�s a link of me at her last get-together � keep in mind that it was a Tarts & Vicars party � that�s why I have on the wacky outfit.


Dinner Yesterday:
Chicken breast, broccoli, wild rice pilaf, 2 2-bite carmel toffee scones from Whole Foods (these are so good they are like crack � I can never buy them again).
Breakfast: PBJ sandwich
Lunch: Weight Watchers spinach/mushroom pizza, small banana.
Snack: 3 tangerines.
Exercise today: none � it�s animal shelter night

0 comments so far

4:38 p.m. - 2008-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie