tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweater Song

I wrote this on Friday, but Diaryland was being a pain and wouldn't let me post.
Ok Weather Gods � enough already with the snow. It took me 2 � hours to get home last night and 1 � to get to work this morning. My usually commute takes 45 minutes to an hour each way so those times were pretty brutal. If it weren�t for the horrible driving I�d love the snow because it turns everyone into a big community of Us vs. The Snow. Neighbors shovel and snowblow for each other, strangers talk more to each other � it�s weird but true.

I would have stayed home today but I knew that if I did I�d be behind the gun on Monday and also that since there were outstanding weather conditions I could wear the verboten blue jeans. It�s not like any customers ever come into my department so I can�t see why we can�t indulge in Casual Fridays or some such b.s. like that, but it�s a rule and therefore we cannot don the denim except under dire circumstances such as today. I�m also wearing my new (again) favorite sweater. Many, many years ago I bought a Ralph Lauren turtleneck Irish fisherman sweater from the sale rack at Marshall Field�s. If my memory is correct it was still expensive even on sale, but I liked it enough to buy it and I wore it frequently in weather that required a thick wooly sweater. My mom used to always help me hand-wash sweaters because only she could seem to get out all the dirt and then in turn get out all the soap without mangling the sweaters and stretching them all out of shape. This sweater has needed a wash probably since before she died two years ago and I had been dreading the task and putting it off. Knowing that it would be snot-freezing cold up in Green Bay and wanting to bring my warmest sweater I asked my happy homemaker friend Alli if she thought I could wash it in my machine on gentle with Woolite. She made the frowny face and suggested I handwash it. I explained my handwashing dilemma and she kindly offered to let me come over and do a couple of loads of sweaters in her front loading washer that has a special handwash cycle. We even used a special wool detergent that made the sweaters fluffy as well as clean � yay! Problem solved. I wore the sweater up in Green Bay and no fewer than three people all told me how much they liked my sweater. Huh � who knew? So, it�s back in heavy rotation and I�m waiting for the compliments to start rolling in.

Hey, hey! The drywall has been delivered and is being attached to the walls as I type this very entry. I can barely believe this is really happening. The drywall guys are doing the third floor first and they told Steve that when they move to the second floor he can start priming/painting the walls. SQUEEEEEEEE!!!!!! Of course we still need to have the floors installed and then there�s kitchen and bathroom stuff that needs to get done (cabinet hanging, tilework, etc.) but soon I�ll have REAL WALLS. Woot!

0 comments so far



Dinner last night: Quite the smorgasbord. Steve and I went to a benefit wine tasting and I didn�t want to go on an empty stomach so I had two pieces of string cheese and a couple of the handmade chocolates from our neighbor before we left. The I had probably the equivalent of one glass of wine at the tasting along with two hunks of cheese on water crackers. Then we went out for dinner and I had � of a turkey reuben (hold the 1000 island dressing please!), some French fries, and a Corona .
Breakfast: Bagel with cream cheese and tomato.
Lunch: Lean Cuisine roasted veggie pizza, small banana, handful of jelly beans.
Dinner: I think we�re having leftovers � we have the following to choose from: pasta with tomato-cream sauce, pork roast, chicken breasts, rice pilaf, and fingerling potatoes. I�m going to stop at the grocery and pick up a veggie because we need something green to go with this.
Exercise: Boot Camp � � running the stairs and � Bosu ball work. I will be hurting later for sure

9:19 a.m. - 2008-02-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie