tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm here!

Note: this entry was written during the week of the Cubs collapse of 2003.

October 21, 2003

So, looks like this whole f-ed up house thing is finally going to come to an end of some sort. I suppose when it's all said and done I'll post something about how this whole mess started so as not to confuse anyone who might stumble across this journal. Anyway, the two-flat is on the market and SH (my husband) and I have put in our bid. We should hear back in the next day or so whether or not it was approved by the estate laywer and the executor (SH's sister). It's all so godawful and screwed up, but I'm hoping for the best. If we don't get the house then we have to look for something else to buy and I swear to god if that happens I'm going to have to seek professional therapy and get me some Xanax because I will spiral into a deep, deep depression and spend every waking moment thinking of evil ways to booby-trap the house and kill SH's aunt. I have already stated to anyone who will listen that if we don't get this house I will empty the freezer at the animal shelter where I do volunteer work and stuff whatever disgusting bits & pieces of animals that I find into the nooks and crannies of the two-flat to merrily rot away until maggots drop onto the unsuspecting heads of the new owners. I have also though of something so particularly nasty to do to the toilet tank that I hesitate to mention it here - all I'll say is that SH was frightened that a petite flowers such as myself could come up with something that disgusting. I would also begin flushing kitty litter down the toilet so that it will never again flush with any velocity. Yes, that's right. Don't screw with the bull 'cause you might just get the horns.

So, how 'bout them Cubbies? I think they're genetically predisposed to lose. It pains me, but only because I live with a man who bleeds Cubbie blue and pouts like a 5 year old girl when they lose. The latent White Sox fan in me is smirking.

Because I am the biggest geek in the known universe and I am desperatly trying to reclaim a part of my life that was happy and pure, I was at Tower Records in Schaumberg on Monday for the midnight release of Kill Hannah's CD. They did a little in-store performance and everything. I kept looking at M (my partner in the 'I will not grow up' schemes) and saying things like, 'I am the only married person in this room full of loser-ific people.' 'We are the only people who dislike staying up this late, and definitely the only two people who need to get up tomorrow to go to jobs where we do not have to use a punch clock.' But, since I had about a FREAKING HOUR to browse, and all of the CD's that I own are stuffed away in some 17X11X11 carton somewhere (until the house thing gets settled I refuse to unpack my stuff, so the majority of it has languished on boxes since July of 2002. Yes, 2002. That's how long this crap-o deal has been going on.)I bought about $100 worth of Vaugh Williams stuff. I just had to hear Fantasia on Greensleeves' the Five variants of Dives and Lazarus and the English Folk Song Suite. I don't care that I already have all of these things on other discs (or, knowing me - the same discs) I needed to hear them. They are so beautiful it makes me want to cry. I'd read a biography about Vaugh Williams to learn about the man behind the beautiful music, but the reality would probably dissapoint me. I want to believe that he is a fantastically romantic figure that roamed about the lovely English countryside for inspiration, but he was probably a stodgy old man who sat around in an office. Don't ruin it for me. I also bought the 8 CD set of all of the symphonies conducted by Boult because I heard that version of the 5th Symphony once on the radio and not only did I love it, but it delighted me to no end that I recognized that it was Vaughn Williams. I know, perhaps small potatoes to you but a big deal for little ol' pea brained me. Plus it impressed the heck out of SH.

That's all for now. I hope to update most days - we'll see how that goes.

12:40 p.m. - 2003-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie