tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Envy is one of the seven deadly sins

Well, I�m back after a day�s respite. Hmmm� That apostrophe looks funny back there in �day�s�. If Marian the Grammarian happens to be reading this let me know if it should be there or not. I finished all the housekeeping, which is a good thing since our heater broke last night and it�s something Steve can�t fix. We will have to have The Man come out to check it out and he will have to walk through the hovel to get to the basement. At least now it�s a clean and tidy hovel and will cause me no shame. When we awoke this morning in the Home With No Heat it was a tad chilly despite 2 cats on the bed and the electric mattress pad turned up to 7. I kept hearing the weather on WBEZ, �32 at Midway, 33, at O�Hare�..,� and I wanted to add my own, �and it�s 37 in Steve and Paula�s bedroom.� Let�s hope that gets fixed today so frost doesn�t form and I don�t freeze my kiester off tonight.

I went to the gym last night as I often do on Monday nights. I got there too late for Body Pump so I spent some time lifting weights and then I went to Ramon�s spin class where I got my weekly dose of irritation from the anime girl. She�s so freakin� cute that it makes me want to be ill. I�m sure she�s a dancer � there�s a studio not far from the gym and she wears these very dancer-y cool velour track suits pulled low down onto her jutting hip bones and also tights WITH NOTHING UNDER THEM (yes, they are thick tights, but all tights stretch a bit over your ass and expose some flesh between the fibers even if you are a cute anime girl with a petite ass) � and she has these perky little ponytails up on top of her head that drive me nuts. Try to imagine a brunette Cindy Lou Who grown up and with a dancers bod. She makes me feel most elephantine, and I�m not exactly huge. She�s just so tiny and cute and flexible. She does this stretchy thing after class and I swear one of these weeks I�m going to just grab her leg and hoist it until I can hear her hip joint snap. I�m sure that most guys I know would look at her and go, �eh. She�s ok � she kind of looks like my kid sister.� But it�s a known fact that the women that men look at are not the women that other women look at. I just reread what I wrote there and it makes me sound most bi, which I am not. It�s just that when confronted by a real-life person whom you�d like to look like, the green monster of envy seeps out.

I got an IM from my friend Walter up in Minneapolis. He works for a large retail corporation that shall not be named except to say that their logo is a red bullseye. He had a meeting this morning for some software thingy and the guy he met with was someone we went to high school and both knew. It�s kinda creepy because Walter stumbled upon his blog/journal awhile ago and forwarded me the link. I read most of it � I couldn�t help myself. One thing really creeped me out. Background: this blog/journal guy used to have a crush on me and things didn�t go well and it was bad in a very High School kind of way with hurt feelings and avoidance and maudlin yearbook messages. Anyway, now his dog has my last name and that just squicks me out. Although I will not put my last name here (we all need SOME anonymity and I�m just too lazy to keep up with the initials and pseudonyms) I can say that it is the same as a long dead poet. Ok, sure, this guy could have been (and probably was) a lit major in college but it�s not exactly a name that rolls off the tongue with amazing ease. Plus, and maybe this is being self-centered � but aren�t we all a bit that way? - I don�t see how he could have named his dog this without thinking in some teeny way of me. I mean � there�s no way I would have named any of my cats Anderson (despite the fact that I really like Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson) or Coffee (despite the fact that I drink it every day) because these are the last names of previous beaux from my life and it would weird me out because every time I talked to my pet I would be thinking of my ex. Maybe it�s just me. But I kind of think not. Thoughts?

Lastly, I�m trying out the Cover Girl Outlast 8-hour lipstick stuff today. The Q section of the Trib gave it a tout a few weeks ago and Megan tried it out and said it does indeed last for quite some time and unlike previous versions of long-last lipstick it does not dry out your lips until all you have left is a bunch of crusty, lipstick-coloured, flakes where your lips used to be. I picked up three last night because, in for a penny � in for a pound, and they were 40% off at Osco. I�m wearing Brazen Raisin right now, but I could also have chosen Berry Pearl or Timeless Ruby. I�m all about the dark and sultry lip colours.

11:01 a.m. - 2004-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie