tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

La, la, la...I can't hear you.....

I have not exactly been an updatin� machine on this here journal lately, but that�s not for slackerly behaviour. No, no, it�s just that of late I have been living an incredibly boring life. There has been a lack of amusing anecdotes, no major irritations or rant about, nada. Even the cats have been acting normal recently. It�s making me think I�m too boring to have a journal. I could bore all .2 of you with tedious archery stories, but that�s probably a bad idea. It�s not like I�m Paula! Olympic Archer Extrodinaire! Able to Hit Bullseyes With Amazing Ease! Quite the contrary. I�m Paula! The One Who Has More Money Than Sense. You know, The One With Fancy Equipment Who Can�t Hit The Broad Side Of A Barn! That would be me. Sad but true, I�ve been sucking as of late and folks, outdoor season is just around the corner. If you thought I was having difficulties at 20 yards, come see the excitement as I have to try to shoot at 30, 50 and even 70 yards. See the expensive arrows get lost in the wooded berm, see me get really pissed off and throw my bow and snap my stabilizer over my knee. Fun for the whole family. And it�s free! Just look at the site for the Lincoln Park Archery Club (sorry - too lazy still to do the html for a linkie) for the schedule for the outdoor season and bring the whole family to see me mentally disintegrate at an outdoor meet.

We are in the midst of a sucky cold snap here in Chicagoland. I need it to warm up so Megan and I can begin our running program in earnest. No more of this namby-pamby 5 minutes of running and 3 of walking. No wonder I was The Weakest Link last year for the running section of the Scallion. I want to work up to where I can run for an hour straight. It may be with crapola form, it may be slow, but I want to be able to run for an hour. That would be great - it would make the 5K�s I do for training seem like nothing. I know I�ll never be one of the gazelles that I see warming up by doing wind sprints before the race, but I also don�t want to be one of the people who collapses red-faced and wheezy immediately after crossing the finish line. That�s my goal for this summer - run for an hour - I�ve said it and now I can�t go back on it.

I�ve made reservations for Little Sugar River Farm (again, lazyness = lack of linkie) for early this fall and even though it�s about five months away, I can�t wait. I realize that I�m probably in the minority of vacation-goers in that I think spending a week on an organic farm in a small town in Wisconsin is just about the height of vacation bliss, but you have to trust me on this one. Maybe you have to live in a big city to really want to get away from a city. I just relish the idea of a whole week where I don�t have to listen to tires squealing, cars honking, Bongo-Boy next door noodling away on the drums, or heated arguments in foreign languages. A whole week where all I hear is crickets and a dog barking now and then. A beautiful 40 mile bike path is right down the street, a conservation area for hiking is right next to the farm, and all the veggies I can eat are right outside my door. Plus the house is an architectural marvel � it has won awards and everything. Last year Steve and I spent a long weekend there with Megan and Clark and it was just lovely, but with a whole week we�ll have more time to just relax and not feel pressured to do everything at once. I guess there�s an organic beef guy nearby and we can get some grill fixin�s from him, and this year we�ll have time to visit the New Glarus brewery and the organic cheese people and maybe take a day trip to see Taliesin the Frank Lloyd Wright house nearby. Here I go filling up our time again when all I really want to do is ride my bike, jog some and sit out on the porch at night after a simple dinner listening to the crickets while drinking a nice glass of wine or a beer out of a cold frosty mug.

I guess I�ll post an update on Operation Eyebrow Reforestation. So far so good, but only by sheer willpower. I slop on the fancy eyebrow lipocils (what does that mean anyway?) every night and morning like a good girl, but I don�t really know if they�re doing anything more than giving me a twice daily reminder to �NOT PLUCK if only because you paid about $40 for this stupid lipocil gunk and if you pluck you might as well just have flushed the $40 down the toilet.� It�s killing me though, the not plucking. I�m getting some regrowth at the end near the nose and underneath too, but I think from years of plucking the hairs now grow funny. By which I mean that instead of laying flat like the normal eyebrow hairs, they stick up at funny angles and it drives me mental. If I rub my finger over them I can feel their unrulyness and it�s all I can do to restrain myself from grabbing my Tweezerman�s and do a major pluckage. Now from my description you might think I was suddenly becoming an extra in Revenge of the Eyebrows: The Eyebrows That Ate Alaska or something but that�s only to me because like an idiot, several times a day I get about 2� away from a mirror to closely inspect every pore on my face and every hair on my brow. Most women will understand this phenomenon but guys will be totally mystified. Guys hardly even look in mirrors, let alone getting up close and personal like that. Luckily for me though, at a normal distance, like say, the one that most people would stand from you to have a conversation, the brows look totally normal. I�m a freak � that�s all there is to it. An eyebrow pluckin� freak.

It�s Friday, and for that I am eternally grateful. It should be a fairly relaxing weekend. Tonight I�m taking Bob�s spin class and then heading home to put together the info for my taxes and rip a few CD�s for friends. Steve has his last indoor soccer game (thank ya� jeezus) but he should be home relatively early so I can have an uninterrupted night of slumber. Tomorrow we�re going to some sort of Modernism show in Chicago where we will probably fall in love with some object that we can�t live without and then we have the fixin�s for a good dinner at home and then perhaps some more Homicide: Life on the Streets from Netflix or perhaps we�ll venture out to see a current movie. Sunday I have an archery meet, so I can have some public humiliation to keep me grounded and then dinner at the out-laws where we will do everything in our power to not discuss the big stinking turd that the elephant under the table has left. By this I mean discussion of the house that Steve and I live in and is supposed to be sold to us sometime when all the stars align and the lawyers agree. I�m sure that conversation will center on polite topics like the weather and what we�ve been doing with our time. I swear to god though � one time I�m going to lose it and I�m going to go on some sort of psychotic rampage where I denounce the Catholic Church and all it�s beliefs, the namby-pambyness of the house situation, and who knows what else. I will become the daughter-in-law from hell and the freakoutedness that this will cause will know no bounds. So, actually it looks like the weekend will be relax, relax, relax, get tense about public humiliation, get wound up about the house situation, and will likely end up with me screaming and crying in the car on the way home from Sunday dinner. Fun, fun, fun. I�ll be sure to let y�all know.

11:57 a.m. - 2004-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie