tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stay Safe!

Just had to pop in a mini-update here because I just went to a safety meeting here at work and it amused me to the point where I must share. I usually don�t and won�t talk about work here because frankly, it would bore the pants off of you. For a brief bit of background I work for my family�s company. I do some accounting and lots of other stuff that has gotten dumped on me over the years. Because of my situation I can�t really say �no� to various requests for me to do things. You�d think that my being part of the family would excuse me from the mundane and the unpleasant, but that�s not the case. Suffice to say that it really sucks to be in a situation where your brother or your cousin could potentially fire you. Yes, it certainly would cause giant fireworks within the family, but it�s not completely outside the realm of possibility either. So anyway, one of the sucky, mundane things I have to do is to be the office representative on the Safety Committee. I understand that we do need a safety committee because there are big machines on the premises than can cause some major bodily damage if used carelessly or improperly. But those machines are out in the shop. In the office the scariest machine we have is the ancient paper shredder, which come to think of it is pretty scary. But I digress. This meeting was directly in response to a visit we had a few weeks ago from the nice folks at OSHA who after putting us under a microscope decided that we have a few issues with some of our procedures and slapped us with a fine of a few thousand dollars. This meeting was to refresh everyone on the Lockout/Tagout procedure of turning machines off and cutting their power supply for maintenance. We were provided with a fine video showing all the hazards of not doing this correctly. The narrator was from whatever part of the country where �tag� is pronounced �tay-g� which is a vocal inflection that drives me mental for some reason. Almost as mental as people who say �q-pon� for coupon. C�mon people � do you say �q-gar�? No you say cougar, so say coupon, dammit! By the end of the 15 minute video everyone sitting behind me probably thought I had a muscle twitch because every time the narrator would say �tay-g� I�d flinch. It irritates me that much. Then after the video I wandered back to my cube and was trying to decide if anyone would think it was funny if I got one of the tags and put it on my electric stapler every time I got up from my desk. Probably not, people here don�t have much of a sense of humour when it comes to that kind of stuff. But it sure gave me a case of the giggles.

And just to gloat, I scored my pavilion tickets to see Lyle Lovett and his Large Band at Ravina through my Uncle who, as a contributor to Ravinia, gets to buy them ahead of time. In a true show of marital love I also bought tickets for John Hiatt who does absolutely nothing for me but Steve seems to like him quite a bit. But people � Lyle! I have Lyle tickets! I�ve always liked his music, but after seeing him last year at Ravinia I can almost understand why Julia Roberts married him. It was one of the best shows I�ve ever seen. Ravinia is a magical place to see a show (pavilion only � the lawn is filled with drunk idiots who don�t know when to shut up, and besides, you can�t see the band and if I wanted to just hear the music I�d stay at home sit on a blanket in the backyard with my speakers pointing out the window) and bands really seem to groove on playing there and give really great performances. Plus it was date night for me and Steve. I bought the tickets on the sly and didn�t tell him and then I took him to dinner and then to Ravinia where he didn�t know who was playing. I made him cover his ears when they were announcing the concert and then when Lyle came out he was so excited it was just wonderful. It won�t be a surprise this year, but I bet we�ll have just as much fun.

4:37 p.m. - 2004-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie