tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Screaming Mimi

I think at the ripe old age of 35 I might have finally developed allergies. For years I would smugly announce that I was allergic to nothing: no flora, no fauna, and no food, but now in this season of budding shrubbery I find my nose oddly clogged up. I get great satisfying THOCK sounds as chunks of nasal goo hit the Kleenex when I blow my nose, and I sneeze about 50 times a day. I would begin experimenting with over the counter allergy medications, but let�s face it folks, I�m spacey enough as it is. So if you spend any time around me I just hope that you�re not offended by the schnorking noises I make about every 30 seconds.

As if a discussion of snot wasn�t bad enough here�s this little tidbit. How gross is it when you have one of those oozy scrapes on one of your fingers and when you wake up in the morning there is cat hair stuck to it making you look like you have little Hobbit hands � or at least a little Hobbit finger. Paula Baggins � that�s me.

Between the 5:30am wake-up to do my part for flea market, and then the round of public humiliation that will immediately follow at the archery tournament, and then the archery club meeting that will immediately follow that, tomorrow is shaping up to be one big suck of a day. I�m not even looking forward to potato pancakes for dinner. Last Sunday during the second enormous Easter meal of the day (my parent�s house) where Harry & Eleanor were in attendance we all got pretty bombed due to the good red wine that was a-flowin� freely. So bombed that really dirty limericks were being bandied about (no, I don�t remember any of them because that�s not how my brain works. All I remember was one about some guy from somewhere whose dick was really long so he bent it double and then instead of coming he went). During part of the drunkenness my dad asked Harry when he would be making potato pancakes again. Harry responded drunkenly �Saturday!� Thusly making tomorrow potato pancake night. Personally I�d rather just stay home, order a pizza and pass out around, oh I dunno, 7pm. Not going to happen. Steve and I are committed to the fried starch festival, which wouldn�t be too bad but I somehow got the impression that potato pancakes and applesauce will be the only things served. And lots of wine. Pray tell, what wine goes with potato pancakes? I guess I�ll find out tomorrow. Maybe I�ll sneak in some beef jerky or something so I can get a little protein with the carbfest.

Hey! Countdown to Mimi Smartypants! Less than 12 hours to the Gaper�s Block party at Ann Sather�s on Belmont! Woo Hoo! Poundy will be there too. I can�t wait. It�s BYOB so Steve and I can try out the cool neoprene 2-bottle wine tote that we bought last week at the Museum of Contemporary Art. So sleek and trendy. Or maybe we�ll bring beer. Maybe I�ll send Mimi a drink. I still don�t know what I�m going to wear. Gah. I feel like I�m in high school again.

I�m looking at my calendar and realizing that I�m signed up for a 5K next Saturday. Well now, that came around a little more quickly than I thought it would. I have a week to be able to run about 35 minutes straight so I won�t have to be shamed by walking during the race. OK then. Megan and I are doing a quick run tonight before the party (Mimi! Mimi!) and I think we�re going to try to do 25 or 30 minutes straight. Whee! Fun! That reminds me, I have to pick up the race packs next week at Fleet Feet.

Hey, I won the lottery. No, not THAT kind of lottery. I finally got a locker in the Women�s Locker Room at my health club. You may think I am exaggerating here, but there is a minimum of a two-year waiting list. TWO FREAKIN� YEARS. And this is for a small locker. I imagine in order to get a large locker you have to get one of the current large-locker-renters to promise it to you in their will and then you have to surreptitiously kill them. I�ve had a locker in the Family Locker Room for about a year and a half now, but that has a myriad of problems. Both men and women use the Family Locker Room along with their squalling children so you can�t just get naked in the middle of the room � you have to go into one of the two changing rooms, which is OK only when the locker room isn�t crowded. When it is crowded you have to stare down the parents who look at you like you shouldn�t be there because the room is supposed to be reserved for parent/child combos during kid swim time. And I have to say the loud naked children freak me out � I feel a little pervy because I�m often the only adult there without my own personal naked child. Also, there is no water fountain there so you have to go elsewhere to fill your bottle and there is only one bathroom and it is a toilet/shower combo and it always smells a little fusty. Not poopy or stinky, just fusty � like a towel that needs to be washed. So, hooray for my new locker! Best part is that they�re only charging me $10/month which is that same as I was paying in the Family Room. I think it should be either $15 or $20, but I must have charmed the assignment lady and she said they would honor what I was currently being charged. Go me.

So that�s all for now � doesn�t look like I�ll have much time to update over the weekend so I�ll be back with a weekend wrap-up on Monday.

10:21 a.m. - 2004-04-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie