tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A space for my athletic Trapper Keeper

Well, I finally weighed myself, and hoo-baby this is definitely the right time to go on a diet. As I mentioned before, I�m peaking at maximum density. I suppose to a casual reader I must come off as some sort of complete freak. They probably have a picture of a huge woman with no eyebrows. I promise this is not the case � I�m pretty harsh on myself. Anyway, I went to the grocery store last night to stock up on low-carb food and got a pretty good selection. Today for lunch I had tuna salad with an avacado, and I think I�ll either have an omelette or else I�ll pick up some stir fried veggies from a Thai place for dinner. All right already, I�ll shaddup about it now.

I went rollerblading last night and my god was it hard. Now, I�m a pretty good in-line skater (to use the technical term) but I always forget about the brutality of the first outing of the season. My shins were en fuego and my back felt like I�d spent the previous day digging ditches. Perhaps this is a signal that I need new skates. This is the fourth pair I�ve had and so far nothing has matched my satisfaction with Pair No. 2, which were falling apart by the time I was done with them. I�ll have to do some on-line checking with Rollerblade, Salomon, and K2 to see what this year�s models look like and then maybe I�ll cough up the dough for a new pair.

I got a phone call this morning that almost made me fall over with joy and amazement. Molly from my health club called to inform me that although I had just previously won the equivalent of the Big Lotto, now a mere two weeks later I have just won the multi-state Powerball. I got a big locker. I can�t wait. I can get all kinds of cool locker organizing stuff and I can put a bulletin board on the inside of the door and pin up pictures of Orlando Bloom and Johnny Depp�.oh wait, that was High School. Maybe I�ll do it anyway � it�ll make my locker neighbors nervous that I�m some sort of looney. At least I�m not like crazy lady. All gyms have a certain percentage of crazy people. There are all kinds of categories � the guys who have worked out so much they look like the The Tick, women who have had so much plastic surgery that they would give Joan Rivers a run for her money, people who obsessively wait for particular machines, blah, blah, blah. Then there�s crazy lady. Her hair is twisted into all these little coils all over her head and held in place with rubber bands and hair-pins. She wears colored frame cat-eye glasses that are just a mite too freaky to be considered to be hip. She usually wears a seamless sports bra � the kind that really aren�t meant to be worn on their own. Then she wears a pair of circa 1980 Jan Fonda style panties over a pair of white tights with bunchy socks and Chuck Taylors. I�m sure she�s an artiste or something but my god she looks like a freak. Thankfully she�s rail-thin so at least she�s not all bulgy or anything.

I think she�s harmless though, as opposed to Angry Man. In the room with the weight machines there are hip and inner thigh machines that you sit on and either squeeze shut or push open with your legs (cruder people call these the Yes/No machines). Generally you do one and then the other and if they�re both busy you stand and wait for the first one that become available. One day I was on the one that you push open and the other one was occupied too. Some lady was waiting for one of us to finish and this guy came up and tried to make her pick which one she was waiting for because he felt that�s the way it should be. He got really snippy about it. Thank god the woman stood her ground and Angry Man stalked off, because I was prepared to stay on my machine until my thighs became numb just so he couldn�t get on the machine. I�m so passive aggressive.

Tonight is archery night � I get to try the new arrows for real, meaning that I remembered my glasses so I can actually see where they�re going. This could be the big break that I need � keep your fingers crossed for me.

2:04 p.m. - 2004-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie