tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neighborhood Vigilante

What a weekend. Friday night Steve and I met our friends Mike and Alli at a neighborhood tavern for dinner and a few beers. I had the perch special and was it ever tasty! Washed down with a few Blue Moons �mm mmm good!

Saturday was the dog wash at the shelter and for once we had a perfect day. Business was slow though, which makes it easy on the volunteers but means that not much money is being raised. I washed a French Bulldog and that is now my dog du jour. It was so cute and snorty � like a little asthmatic footstool. After my shift was done I scooted home to do some weeding and hang out in the lawn chair reading the rat book. I swear � I�ve seen more rats in the alley this summer than ever before. It grosses me out because it�s often not just the lone rat. I�ve been seeing them in groups of two and three and some of them are of the, shall I say, larger variety. I guess I�ll just keep up with the neighborhood vigilante act and continue to call Streets and Sanitation to dutifully report my rat sightings. I told Steve to keep an eye out for any that he sees in the daytime. According to the book that means that the colony is so big that it can�t support itself with nighttime feeding alone. The weaker members have to venture forth during the day to get enough food. From the dogwash/outdoor reading combo I got myself a nice little sunburn on my back � oops.

Later on Saturday Steve and I rode our bikes to meet some friends at RibFest. I think I�m too old for _____Fest. Fill in the blank on your own. At any of the �Fests� there are just too many hot sweaty drunken bodies meandering aimlessly around for me to have anything approaching a good time. Plus, I hate eating standing up and I doubly hate having to use tickets to buy my overpriced non-healthy food. I had a minor breakdown when I got there because there were too many people and it was too hot and it was awful, but I calmed down and managed to have a passable time, but I think that there will be no more Fests in my future.

Sunday was the last Orienteering meet of the season � no more until Fall. It was out in the Palos area a zillion miles away, but happily there is a large population of Indians in the area so we found a tasty Indian restaurant for lunch. Mmmmm � buffet.

On the way home we stopped at REI and I scored a great Burton jacket for about 1/3 of its original price. It will be great for cross-country skiing next year and now I can get rid of the ratty Patagonia fleece thing that I�ve been beating into the ground.

Also on the way home � a stop at the Glenview Dairy Bar. Ummmmmm. I tried this stuff called Frace that has only 10 calories per ounce, no fat and low carbs. It was actually good! I could become addicted. We were joking about the Seinfeld episode where they all become addicted to some sort of lo-cal frozen yogurt that isn�t really lo-cal at all, and then we were talking about Pirate�s Booty the puffed corn snack that wasn�t as low fat & cal as they claimed at first. I�m hoping that Frace is the real deal because it�s quite good. In fact, now that I�m writing about it I�ve developed a sudden craving. I need to find a Frace outlet near work � stat.

When I got home I did more weeding and put up the tomato cages. We�ve had so much rain that the tomatoes are going crazy. Then Steve took off for Osco to use their photo scanner for a project that he�s doing related to the house. He was supposed to be back at 9pm when dinner would be ready, but he still wasn�t home by 9:15 when dinner actually WAS ready. I always try to build in about 15 minutes because of his habitual tardiness. I finally saw him sauntering up at about 9:15 through the back window and then I saw him stop and he called out to me. Turns out there was a huge opossum sitting on the fence near the back door and Steve was reluctant to get close. After much wishy-washiness I finally came down and opened the back door and the poor opossum moved a few feet further away and Steve made a break for the door. Geez � it�s not like they have lightening fast speed � that�s why you always see them squished on the street. I feel sort of sorry for them, they�re actually quite hapless. They just look mean because they have more teeth than any other North American mammal. That�s my factoid for the day and I�m sticking to it.

I just sent in an e-mail to the Chicago CTA � furthering my vigilante status. I told them a couple of things I liked and then blasted them for the gross fuzzy seats. You can�t tell if the seats are dirty or wet until it�s too late and honestly, they have to cost more to install and maintain than the old molded plastic seats � right? Yick. They give me the willies.

OK. Lunchtime is over, so it�s back to work.

1:46 p.m. - 2004-06-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie