tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weet-a-tini's

I�ve been slacking off again, so I have not one, but two weekends to catch up on.

Two weekends ago was absolutely full � but with fun things. Friday I met Weetabix for dinner at Wildfire and it was so unbelievably tasty. We shared crab-stuffed shrimp and a monsterously large salad for starters and then I had cocoanut shrimp as my main course� although I had some serious food envy looking at Weet�s filet mignon. I had a slice of banana-cocoanut cream pie for dessert that was a big as my head and I could not even begin to finish so I took it home along with the other half of Weetabix�s chocolate-peanut butter confection to be eaten Saturday for a totally inappropriate breakfast. Now � I haven�t even mentioned the martini flights that we had! Four mini-tinis all in a pretty pastel row � a pink cosmopolitan, a peach colored raspberry-tini, a blue something-or-other (that Weetabix accurately described as tasting like a pool � not in a bad chlorine-y way, but more like you might hope the aqua blue of a fabulous pool in the tropics might taste � if it tasted as good as it looked), and a green apple-tini with cinnamon sugar around the rim making me think of a yummy apple pie or a fritter. After dinner we adjourned to the bar where Weetabix had a couple more martini concoctions and I, responsibly, switched to club soda (for free from the very cute bartender who feels that responsible drivers shouldn�t be charged for soft drinks) Lucky Weetabix � by a stroke of planning genius (OK, so it was a happy accident, but I can pretend I planned the whole thing) her hotel was right next to the restaurant so her imbibing went unheeded. We talked about absolutely everything under the sun, and I am so going back to Green Bay for a weekend where by sheer force of will I won�t contract some sort of intestinal ailment. If I puke again in Green Bay I want it to be from one too many cocktails at The Bad Bar. Although, if you have to puke in Green Bay I highly recommend the spotless and spacious bathrooms at the St. Brendan�s Inn. For Weetabix�s side of the story (along with a lovely picture of the martini flight plus a better-than average one of me) check out this link.

Saturday night I went to Green Zebra � the wonderfully creative (mostly) vegetarian restaurant. The ambiance, service and food were amazing. I had two glasses of champagne to start out the night (I could get used to that!) from the fun, sassy bartender and then dove into the food, which was phenomenal. I had a baby beet salad with a foamy carrot-yogurt dressing, an eggroll-like concoction filled with savory mushrooms, and a soft-boiled duck egg surrounded by bean and vegetable purees and served with a slice of sourdough toast. Dessert is but a memory, but I do recall that I ate every last bite of it. I liked it so much I�ve already booked another reservation for next month.

Sunday I had to get some unfun stuff out of the way � mostly mowing the lawn, which I had yet to do this year, making our lawn the least appealing on the block. It was so long and raggedy that I got blisters on my hands from the push mower, but at least it was no longer the embarrassment of the block. To celebrate the shorter lawn Steve and I had John over for a simple barbecue � burgers, beer, fresh salsa and guacamole and a warm plate of brownies made from scratch.

I woke up on Monday feeling like I had eaten everything in the world � bloated and puffy from too much good food and drink. So I hit the gym hard � Body Pump at my regular gym and an intense Yoga class at a new studio near my house. I (wisely) continued my gym activities throughout the week (even winning a personal training session at an AIDS Ride fundraiser) knowing that I had another big weekend up ahead � I�ll update about all that stuff a bit later in the week.

11:49 a.m. - 2005-05-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie