tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rice Cakes a go-go

The bruise/scrape combo on my arm is really coming into its own. It has swollen up like a balloon to the point where I cannot rest my arm flat on my desk, necessitating a kind of hovering technique. The bruise has become a lovely shade of purple that radiates away from the bright red, three-inch long, one-inch wide scrape � sort of how Our Lady of Guadalupe has that aura surrounding her on devotional candles. If I can start to see the face of Jesus on my forearm I�ll take a picture, otherwise you�ll have to imagine the horror. Since I don�t want everyone to think I�m married to a wife-beater I�m doomed to wearing long sleeved tops for the next few weeks unless I find someone with a stash of medical leeches � I hear they�re excellent for getting rid of bruises.

I have a weight loss question for those who have tried different methods and/or programs. I hate to get on a scale � I dislike having a number ruin my day (they certainly ruined enough of my days back in high school when I was taking algebra) � but I�d like some sort of measurable way to see if I�m getting any smaller. I do have a pair of jeans that are kicking around the back of my closet that I fit into when I�m at a weight I�m happy with but I don�t want to have to trot them out every week and try to stuff myself into them as a measurement. They�re old and soft and not made anymore (no, they are not a pair of pleated, tapered, acid-wash jeans � they are a well-faded pair of Gap Boy Fit jeans that were made in an era before Britney made it impossible to buy jeans that are fashionable AND cover your ass-crack) so I don�t want to stress the seams unduly � I usually only give them the old college try when I�m feeling like I�m close to my goal. Would taking measurements around certain places on my body be a good idea? I was thinking of measuring my waist, thigh, and upper arm weekly and charting the numbers. Thoughts?

I finished �S is for Silence.� Eh. I love a good mystery but I feel like Ms. Grafton left me hanging with some questions at the end. I won�t elaborate because all my questions would be spoilers for anyone who reads the series, but if you read the book you�ll see what I mean. Tonight I think I�ll start �Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife� by Mary Roach. I�m not really a believer of ghosts or spirits, but I do like to read about them. I should have brought the in to work with me � I�m the only one in on my side of the office today. I should have taken advantage of this by wearing my pyjama bottoms and slippers to work and bringing the book to peruse but I actually have a bunch of end of the year stuff to do. Financial stuff sucks.

If I feel particularly athletic this weekend I might bust out my bike and go for a ride. Mayor Daley has made Chicago a very bike friendly city and there�s a path that starts a couple of blocks from my house. All the rain has melted the snow and ice away so it should be pretty clear, all I worry about is the wet pavement. I must admit to being kind of a bike spazz � I didn�t learn to ride a two-wheeler until I was in third grade. I think I gave it a try when I was around 6 or 7 and I must have fallen off and stubbornly refused to get back on. Then in third grade they announced that on one particular day we�d all have to ride our bikes in to school for a Safety Town demonstration and bike safety check. This was a problem. I had avoided the subject of lack of biking ability rather neatly � I took the bus to school, my friends were walking distance from my house � no problem. But now with Bike Day looming I had to get into action or face the ridicule of my classmates when they found out I couldn�t ride a bike. Embarrassment is THE great motivator. I learned in about a day (duh � it isn�t really that hard) and wobbled through Safety Day without any problems, but I never really clicked with biking. Spin class? No problem � the bike isn�t moving. It�s the little things like traffic, potholes, and puddles that mess me up when I ride a real bike. Plus I�m not that hot at starting back up from a stop or making tight turns � you know, all the things that you encounter on a bike ride.

Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday: 1 hr. Spin class � it�s starting to not hurt so much anymore.
Dinner yesterday: the last of the turkey and mac�n�cheese, a salad and a small dish of pickled beets. Now I finally understand all those jokes about having to eat Thanksgiving leftovers over and over again. I�m PMSing so I had a handful of Ghirardelli mint-chocolate drops for dessert. Excuses, excuses��
Breakfast: small glass of grapefruit juice, lite yogurt, coffee with milk. I might have to start trying to go to Starbucks in the morning. I make a really awful cup of coffee when left to my own devices (or more accurately the devices at work).
Lunch: Three rice cakes smeared with lo-fat peanut butter, an apple.
Snack: an orange.

10:59 a.m. - 2006-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie