tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big potty

In yesterday�s mail I receives a copy of the Vermont Country Store Catalog. Did I become a member of AARP without my knowledge? Because this catalog is so totally geared towards crumblies (old folk). Yeah, there is some normal merch and even a few items I�d consider ordering (mostly food items) but they sell entirely too many different kinds of granny-panties. They have one kind � Lovepats � that go almost all the way to the model�s armpits. They were requested by catalog reader Maryanne Wagner of Indianapolis � that�s a distinction I�d rather not be known for � now everyone knows just what Maryanne�s undies look like, and it ain�t pretty.
Tomorrow holds the prospect of being a very exciting day. Steve and I will have to eat one of our meals��at a restaurant. When we were on vacation in early December we bought a piece of art � an oil painting to be exact. It needed to be glazed and framed so we left it up at the place where we bought it to have the necessary work done. It�s all finished now so we decided to take a little road trip and pick it up. We�ll eat breakfast at home before we leave and we should be home in time for dinner, but lunch will have to be on the road. I think we will be up in Monticello in time to have lunch at the M&M Caf�. It�s not quite like getting to eat at Chez Whatever, but it is good homestyle cooking. I promise not to have anything that comes with a side of fries. Yes, I could pack a lunch, but cut me some slack - it�s too cold and wet out to find a nice picnic spot. I can�t believe that I�m going to make it a whole month without eating anything that comes from a deep fryer � it might be a modern record, but it�s already having some good effects. I don�t know that I�ve lost any weight (since I�m not interested in getting on a scale, the only way for me to tell if I�m getting any smaller will be when/if I start fitting into clothes that were, ahem�snug) but I seem to have conquered a different problem. ALERT: Too Much Information Ahead � skip if you don�t like to discuss poop. A few years ago I had my gallbladder removed and since that time I�ve had what would be deemed less that perfect poop. Frequent loose stool to be exact, as in multiple trips to the bathroom daily � I can�t even fathom only going once every two weeks like Dooce and TranceJen. I don�t quite know why I didn�t put two and two together and realize it was most likely because of the gallbladder removal - I had been trying figure out if I was lactose intolerant, had irritable bowel syndrome, or had picked up a parasite at the animal shelter (that was a fun one � I actually had to take poop samples for a week and bring them into a lab), but I couldn�t isolate the cause. Then I did some web research on pooping patterns post-gallbladder and it turns out that it�s very common to have �issues� especially if you don�t watch you fat intake. Basically anything for a deep fryer is like instant death to me and I know this now because the bulk of what I�ve been eating on my diet for the past couple of weeks has been very low in fat � even the pizza I made used fancy fresh mozzarella and I cooked the shit out of the sausage to get it as lean as possible. I did have some issues after eating the jambalaya � it uses a bit of vegetable oil and we used real sausage instead of the lean turkey sausage that we usually use. Anyway, the upshot of this is I�m no longer spending half the day in the bathroom feeling like I�m pooping acid. Isn�t that special? Aren�t you glad I shared?

Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday: 1 hour, kick-ass spin class. I was completely drenched when it was done and still flushed a half hour later when I got home.
Dinner yesterday: The last of the coleslaw with some pickled beets, 2 pieces of homemade pizza, and yogurt with fresh blackberries for dessert. 1 glass of red wine.
Breakfast: 1 small can of V8, coffee with milk, lite yogurt (still working on Steve about the yogurt maker. As expected he is not hip to the idea.)
Lunch: 4 ryecrisps, 1 packet tuna, apple.
Snack: an orange, handful of pecans.
Reading: Nothing right now. I was so wiped from the spin class yesterday that I could barely keep my eyes open when I got into bed. I did pick up three new books from the library on Wednesday and I expect that I�ll have plenty of time to read during the football games on Sunday. I suppose I should be interested because the Bears actually made it to the playoffs, but I find it difficult to work up an enthusiasm about a game I don�t really understand. And, no, I don�t want to take the time to learn about it � it seems dumb to me so I don�t really care. So there, nyah.

1:44 p.m. - 2006-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie