tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rat Redux

So I seem to recall journaling about a rat problem in my alley some time ago. Well, it�s baaaaack. A few weeks ago I saw a rat scurry under my car then go under the fence and into my neighbor�s garage. I�ve been waiting for a chance to see my neighbor to let him know that he�s harboring critters, but in the winter I don�t see him as much as I do in the summer when I�m out in the yard more often. As I was coming inside last night I saw him and gave him the bad news � he seemed somewhat nonchalant. He mentioned that he�s seen a few mice � perhaps he was thinking that I was mistaken in what sort of rodent I saw. Steve had come out by this time to see if I needed any help with the groceries and he wound up hanging out by the fence talking to our neighbor about the Bears game while I went inside to start warming up some stew for dinner. Apparently while they were out there having sports talk a rat scurried into the garage. HAH! That will teach him to doubt my rat spotting abilities! Apparently he�s lived a somewhat sheltered life and hasn�t actually seen a rat before last night so I think he might have been disillusioned about how bad the problem in our alley can get. I�m hoping this means he�ll call the Chicago Rat Czar and get something done about this because I don�t want them to start multiplying when it gets warmer and surprising me when I lift the lid on our garbage can. I think the big problem is that his garage really an old carriage house kind of structure and it�s kind of a disaster area � a haven for pests. Maybe this is the motivation he needs to clean it out and organize it. I wonder how he�s going to break it to his wife. I bet she goes apeshit � I know she�s always worrying about their wiener-dog tangling with a rat and getting bitten or contracting some sort of parasite. I think they should borrow the neighbor�s Jack Russell terrier, Jackie (how original), who has supposedly killed about three rats and a couple of squirrels in the past year with nary a scratch on her. Whatever they do, I hope they do it soon.

TNT has started to show reruns of House, the medical drama, so Steve and I have jumped on the bandwagon. I like it but I just can�t stop thinking about Hugh Laurie as the idiot Prince Regent from the BBC comedy Black Adder and I have a hard time taking him seriously since he�s carried over some of the same mannerisms from one character to the next. Plus (and yes, I know it�s tv so some exaggerations will exist) I can�t help but think that he�s a little unprofessional despite his outstanding diagnostic skills. Also, they show some awfully graphic surgery and treatment scenes - I have to spend a good portion of the show with my hands over my eyes. In the episode we watched last night some poor sap was getting injections in his spine and even though I covered my eyes I could still hear the grunts and groans. Ick.

I�m going to measure myself tonight and use it as a start point to see if the diet and exercise program is working. I know I probably should have taken these measurements back on January first, but oh well�. I�m going to take then in the following places: calf, upper thigh, upper arm (for these three I�ll have to use moles as a guidelines so when I measure again I can make sure I take the measurements at the same places), and waist. If I�m not too horrified by the measurements, I might even post them.

Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday � 1 hour Body Pump Class
Dinner yesterday: 9-10 green olives, bowl of beef stew, 2 slices of bread. 1 glass of red wine, and a medium bowl of cinnamon ice cream for dessert.
Breakfast: coffee with milk, small can of V8, lite yogurt. I think the Donvier yogurt maker is a dead issue � plus I don�t really mind the �lite� yogurt I eat every day. I get completely grossed out by the watery liquid that forms on top of the more natural yogurts and I don�t even really like to mix the fruit from the bottom of some yogurts, so I guess the chemical laden Yoplait lite is probably what I should stick with.
Lunch: 3 rice cakes smeared with low-fat peanut butter, an apple.
Snack: cottage cheese, an orange. I was really hungry after my Body Pump class yesterday � I had forgotten to eat my afternoon snack orange. I stopped at the market for some bread to go with dinner and I had a near breakdown in the chips �n� snacks aisle. There was a bag of cheesy-poofs that looked so tempting and was just calling out to me but I resisted it�s siren call. I almost gave in because it was from the O Organics line that�s new at Dominick�s/Safeway and I was trying to rationalize that because it was organic how bad could it be? When I looked at the nutrition information it would seem that the answer would be, pretty bad. I should probably start keeping a small baggie of some sort of snack in my purse (another suggestion from the French Women Don�t Get Fat author) for just these sort of occasions. Maybe some dried apricots or some pecans or something like that.

3:11 p.m. - 2006-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie