tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A little bit normal

It was a pretty good weekend. The dog finally pooped so Shitwatch 2006 is over, we ate out with some friends, watched The 40 Year Old Virgin � normal stuff. It feels good to do normal stuff.

On Sunday, Steve and I drove up to my parent�s house and Steve, my brother and my dad went to a StuporBowl party and I stayed behind with my mom to help out with some laundry and other things. She is going to drive us all nuts � I KNOW how to do laundry � there�s absolutely no need for her to follow me down the basement steps and supervise. I WANT to help her and I WANT her to take it easy and rest. Shit � I feel like every trip down those stairs takes off 15 minutes of her life and we only have about six months left to begin with. But nevertheless I had to very firmly tell her that I didn�t want her down there and could she please go back upstairs and I would handle the laundry. So today, my dad drags me into his office and tells me all pissily that he doesn�t want me to argue with my mother (who neglected to tell him that I was arguing with her for HER OWN GOOD). I explained that I would continue to argue with her until she let me do the goddamn laundry and that I don�t want her to do the goddamn laundry and that she should just let us do the things we can do for her. Then he understood. Sometimes I wish that I had been born in the jungle and raised by apes, but then I�d probably be arguing with my gorilla-mom about picking bugs off her aging back or something.

Today I�m going to take my mom for her radiation treatment so I have to leave early, ergo I have to put the nose to the grindstone and get me regular work finished so this will be it for the day.

Resolution Journal:
Weekend exercise: 1 hr. spin class on Friday, some short walks with the dog.
Friday dinner: I had a meatloaf sandwich.
Saturday brunch: Home fries, 2 sausage links, 2 scrambled eggs, coffee w/ milk.
Saturday dinner: We ate out at Green Zebra � a fancy-schmancy, modern, mostly vegetarian restaurant that serves small plates, so although it�s going to sound like I pigged out, keep in mind the portions are petite: mozzarella salad, artichoke cassoulet, broiled skate wing, 1 glass of champagne, 2 of sauvignon blanc. Dessert looked surprisingly uninspiring, so we stopped at an Oberweis ice cream shop and I had a cookie dough blizzard-y thing.
Sunday brunch: pancakes, 2 � sausage links, grapefruit juice, coffee with steamed milk.
Sunday dinner: guacamole w/ chips, chili with a dollop of sour cream, some chocolate with nuts in it, 1 beer.
Breakfast today: coffee w/ milk, lite yogurt.
Reading: I finished the Jodi Picoult book � it was OK. She always throws in a twist at the end that helps to wrap up everything in the book into a neat little package. I started The Ghost Orchid, and although I�m not enjoying it as much as Carol Goodman�s other books it�s still pretty good � good enough for me to have plowed through the first half last night during the StuporBowl.

10:59 a.m. - 2006-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie