tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes from the gym

Is it possible the Lou Diamond Phillips could have gotten a 1970�s-era Shaun Cassidy haircut? If so, I think he may have been visiting my gym. Or maybe it was his 1970�s doppelganger.

I saw a co-ed yesterday with a pair of pink shortie shorts that had �The Farm� printed across her ass. I�m against ass-printing in any form on any size ass, but this seemed like a particularly bad idea. I just imagined some drunk frat boy shouting, �this little piggy wants to go to The Farm!!!� in the heat of passion. Squick.

Maybe I have some sort of body dysmorphia � maybe I look better than I think I do. Yesterday I only had time to hop on an elliptical trainer for about a half hour and I was wearing: tight-ish work-out capris (black w/ a blue stripe down the leg), a Nike sports bra with strappy x-straps (matching blue to the capri stripe) that showed under the black strappy cami that I had as a top layer. This is fairly revealing compared to the long-sleeved loose half-zip turtleneck workout tops and loose yoga pants I�ve been wearing recently. About halfway thorough my workout one of my gym buddies walked by. He�s not really a �buddy�, but we recognize each other from around the gym. Truthfully, I don�t know his name and I�m sure he doesn�t know mine, but I do know he�s an Evanston cop and it behooves me to make sure he remembers me on sight in case he ever pulls me over for a traffic infraction. But anyway, the short conversation went like this:

Me: �Hey! Haven�t seen you in awhile. How you doing?�

Him: �Me? I�m fine. I can SEE you�re fine.�

So, maybe the working out is beginning to display some benefits.

I went to visit my mom last night. She was dozing when I went into her room but she woke up and we visited for awhile. Physically she is much, much better than the last time I saw her at the hospital. Mentally? It�s sad to see, but that is where she�s really starting to slip. This is a woman who was definitely a smart cookie � she did the home repairs, managed a household budget and came out ahead every month. Now she can�t seem to grasp the necessary concepts to get her tv remote to work and to change channels, and I�m not talking about one of those giant deals with a thousand buttons � this was a bare bones remote (although in her defense the buttons are pretty small). I did my best to help her and I think she may have gotten it, but I�m still not so sure. I stopped in at a drugstore and bought her about 10 magazines and a Big Button universal remote that I�m hoping will help and I plan on dropping that off tonight. I�m having dinner with my dad tonight so I think we can stop and see my mom and drop off her things before we eat. I need to start scheduling a monthly massage, because with all of the running around and trying to manage: work, personal errands, errands for my parents, visiting my mom, the dog, the gym, friends, and time with my husband I�m starting to get burned out.

Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday: 35 minutes/360 calories on the elliptical trainer.
Dinner yesterday: Lasagna, slice of bread, salad, Cadbury caramel egg, glass of red wine.
Breakfast: strawberry Greek yogurt.
Lunch: � toasted cheese w/ tomato and bacon bits, cup of beef noodle soup, handful of potato chips.
Snack: apple
Reading: already finished �God-Shaped Hole� by Tiffanie DeBartolo. Loved it!

1:44 p.m. - 2006-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie