tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back in the saddle again....

Banner day, folks. I have managed to make it through the day here at work AND NOT CRY. Yes I know it�s OK to cry, but yesterday I was so raw that I think I was starting to make people sorry they had called me because they thought they were upsetting me more than they were sympathizing with me. I am having trouble sleeping at night. I saw an ad for some sort of sleep aid � they�ll even give me a seven-day sample free if I can get a prescription from my doctor. Problem is I feel like a junkie calling my doctor. Do you think she�ll be understanding? She totally knows what is going on because she was my mom�s primary doctor too. I�d just like to be able to go to sleep and stay asleep for the whole night. When I wake up at 3am I just lie there and think of sad things and get all sniffly and snorky and then I can�t get back to sleep until 6am � a mere half-hour before my alarm goes off. And, as if all this wasn�t enough � hellooooo Princess Time. Just what I need � cramps and my Aunt Flo popping by for her monthly visit.

After work I�m heading over to my dad�s house (boy does THAT ever sound weird) to go through some of my mom�s things. My mom was adamant that her jewelry (and the china and the good silverware) be passed to me, the only girl. She has strong feelings about things like that staying in the family and she says you can never be sure that it wouldn�t be returned if one of my brothers got divorced � very pragmatic, she was. That said, I think I might try to pick out a piece for one of my sister-in-laws and find something to pass on to my mom�s sister. I�m making it sound like there are family jewels, but that�s far from the truth. My mom found jewelry to be an annoyance and didn�t wear much and therefore didn�t have too many things. My dad used to buy her something now and again, but I think even he realized that she didn�t wear most of it. Meh. I�ll probably get the weepies doing this, but I�ll be the only one there so I can mope to my heart�s content.

I am trying to get back into the swing of things. Weetabix is doing a reading in Milwaukee on Friday and I�ve convinced Alli to come along and I�m going to give a ride to Jen. I�m looking forward to going up north for the evening and visiting with some good people and having a laugh or two. I could use a break from all the family stuff. Plus I�ve heard rumors of an Italian feast at Mimma�s or PizzaMan after the reading and you just can�t keep me away from the pasta.

I know I mentioned it yesterday, but I want to thank the GB Mini-con folks again for the orchids and the beautiful vase � they make me smile every time I look at them, and I need all the smiles I can get right now.

1:59 p.m. - 2006-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie