tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

F You.

Heh. Well, I guess I�ll be taking more time off from the shelter than I planned. I stopped by last night about half way through the shift � not to really do anything, but to thank people for the donations they have made in my mom�s memory and to catch up with my friends. There is a woman there, let�s call her Schmoo, that I do not get along with. She and I have a history of not-getting-alongness. Perhaps because she spoke once to Steve about when she would be able to speak with �the real architect� (Steve is both licensed and practicing), perhaps because the word �please� isn�t in her vocabulary, perhaps because she talks to people like they are 5 years-old, perhaps because when she�s not condescendingly talking down to people she�s outright rude. Whatever. Anyway, here�s what went down: I was in the office talking with a couple of other volunteers � they were asking me how my dad is coping, how I am coping, etc. Schmoo came into the office with two other people and announced, �I need to be in here, you�ll have to get out.� No �please�, no �I have some business to take care of and I need to office for a few minutes � it would be helpful if you could finish up outside.� So, having decided during my hiatus that taking her shit wasn�t in my best interest (or really in anyone�s best interest as this is the way she talks to just about everyone), as I walked past I said, �you could find a nicer way to say that,� and I walked out in to the hallway to finish my conversation. I was midway through my next sentence to my friends and she came out and started to berate me. Hmmm. What to do. I wasn�t sorry I told her to speak civilly to the rest of us. So, I let the devil on my shoulder decide. �Fuck you.� Her mouth flapped like a fish out of water for a moment but then she regained steam and continued on her rant. Again,with the devil. �Fuck you.� She quit on the spot and stormed out of the shelter. I�m sure she�ll be back. As for me, in the long run, I think it�s best if I don�t go back there either � it raises my blood pressure. I understand why my mom didn�t do volunteer work � she used to say that volunteer work generally consisted if a bunch of bitchy women crabbing around about the colors of the napkins for the next meeting. But seriously, perhaps I chose vulgar (to use Michael Kors� favorite word) words, but y�know I say them somewhat frequently, they use them on HBO series, they use them in books that Oprah chooses for her book club, so get over it. If she hasn�t heard them before she hasn�t been listening too closely.

Tonight Steve and I have a rare home night. I�m forgoing the gym and heading home to warm up turkey leftovers � yum. We have three Netflix to choose from: The Secret Lives of Alter Boys, Memoirs of a Geisha, and Walk the Line. Plus we have about 15 hours of TiVo to catch up on � Gilmore Girls, House, Law & Order��

Big doings over the weekend � I�m taking Steve on a date tomorrow night. It will be tight to get there on time because we�re also going to the Cubs game with Mike and Alli, then to the Modernism Antiques Show/Sale, and then on the date. Shhhhh�. I�m taking him to RedMoon Theater�s latest production/spectacle, The Golden Truffle. If you see him, don�t spoil the surprise.

Resolution Diary:
Exercise yesterday: no time � went to the shelter.
Dinner yesterday: see above.
Breakfast: � of a truly awful banana.
Lunch: I have some soup here, but I�m totally craving a PB&J from Panera. I�m fairly sure the PB&J will win out.
Snack: no snack
Dinner: I already know that I�ll be having turkey, stuffing, � of a twice-baked potato and a scoop of broccoli casserole. I believe I�ll be having at least one glass of red wine (I love a nice pinot noir with turkey), and a slice of Oberweis ice cream pie for dessert. Yum.

10:32 a.m. - 2006-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie