tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My head. It is full of mucus.

I think I�ve finally determined that I have a sinus infection. I web.md-ed my symptoms and it would seem that if you tilt your head forward and it feels like it might explode then it�s likely a sinus infection. I left a message for my doc and hopefully she�ll call me back and be willing to phone in some sort of �script that will make it go away. Web.md also mentioned warm compresses, so I�ll give that a whirl tonight. If I don�t get rid of this soon Steve is going to divorce me because I�ve been making Exorcist-like noises in my sleep and therefore, he�s not getting any. Sleep that is, although feeling yukky also puts a crimp in the love life.

Despite the head o�pressure I managed to get out this weekend to go to a Derby Day party on Saturday. I picked the winner (along with 8 others at the party) and won a couple of free drink tickets. Who knew being a sentimental fool would bring in a winner for me? I picked Barbero for probably the same reason my dad did � my mom�s name was Barbara. I did manage to find out that I do not like mint juleps. I don�t know what I was expecting � maybe something light and mojito-esque? � but bourbon and me, not so much. I guess I�m not a Kentucky gal at heart. I did wear a hat to the party although not a new hat � it was a lovely wide brimmed grey straw hat that I wore to my cousin�s wedding about 10 years ago. Let�s see, this is the second time I�ve worn it so that brings the per wearing price down to $125.00. Needless to say, I did not buy the hat for myself � it was a gift.

Sunday I managed to be a bit more productive and I (finally) cleaned the house. There�s nothing grosser than spending every night horizontally on the couch mere inches away from a cat-hair matted rug and not having the energy to do anything about it. I did a full cleaning of the bathroom, a major vacuuming (including the heating registers and windowsills), three loads of laundry including sheets and towels, dumped, bleached and refilled the litterboxes, and I swiffered the kitchen floor. Then I went out to see �Brick� with Tam while Steve went out to play soccer. I really enjoyed the movie even though the rapid fire teenage hipster slang made me feel like a complete loser oldster. When I rent the DVD I�ll have to put on the closed captioning � I still won�t understand the meaning entirely, but at least I�ll know exactly what it is that I�m not understanding.

Resolution Diary
Exercise: Hey, if I can�t bend over to tie my shoe without feeling like my head is going to pop, I�m not going to the gym. That said I did do a fair bit of walking around getting to and from public transportation.
Weekend eats:
Friday lunch: scoop of potato salad and a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich.
Friday dinner: leftover pizza.
Saturday lunch: same as Friday�s � it�s Steve�s specialty
Saturday snacks: cheese cubes and crackers
Saturday dinner: small salad, some sort of cioppino (seafood stew), green beans & fingering potatoes. Bite sized fruit tart and bite sized pecan cheesecake for dessert. Two sips of a mint julep.
Sunday brunch: bacon/cheddar omelet, hashbrowns, 2 slices of toast
Sunday movie snack: caramel corn
Sunday dinner: small caprese salad, 2/3 italian sub with the mayo scraped off, 1 glass of white wine.
Breakfast today: banana
Lunch: PB&J, small bag o� chips
Snack: nada
Reading: When All the World Was Young. Still. It�s a bit draggy, but I�m almost finished.

4:32 p.m. - 2006-05-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie