tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

News I can use

What a weekend � I am officially pooped despite making some massive deposits into the sleep bank (although I hear that theory doesn�t really work). I managed to sleep until 10:30 am just about every day this weekend. I always thought I�d mature out of the sleeping �til noon thing, but it would seem not. I just don�t understand those folks who pop right up at 5:30 or 6:00 am. I guess having kids or a pushy dog might do it, but I�d still try to find a way to take care of them and go back to bed.

Oh Hello � super-gross-out. Just now, I almost ate a caterpillar. I was eating some extremely overpriced cherries ($5.99/lb.) and just had a little guest hop off my handful. Ewwwwwww! Now I must give each cherry the stink-eye before I pop it in my mouth, which I suppose isn�t a bad idea anyway considering I did a half-assed job of rinsing them off.

I heard back from the vet this weekend. The news is bad, but not horrible. Matty has a tumor on her thyroid gland. In a dog, the thyroid gland is about the size of a jelly-bean and the tumor is probably the size of a BB � the thyroid controls the level of calcium in the body (among other things). Although not great news, the surgery has about a 90% success rate � I guess it�s pretty easy to go in and nip off the tumor. The cost is fairly high, $1,000.00. That should cover: the expensive pre-op drug she needs to be on, the operation itself, and the 4-5 days of post-op care at the vet�s office where she will need to have her blood calcium level monitored closely so she doesn�t go into a seizure. Luckily, my dad offered to cover the cost because he felt that it was something that my mom would have done (although I would have paid for it anyway *). My vet wanted to schedule the surgery for today, but we couldn�t locate the pre-op drug anywhere (and yes, we tried two hospital pharmacies) so we scheduled it for Tuesday, June 6th. Osco thinks they can get the drug in this week and I can start her on it next Sunday. He wants to do it early in the week because the post-op monitoring will be easier during the week when they have more techs around to keep an eye on Matty. Although this is the original hard-luck doggie, I�m pretty confident because the main vet with the most experience will be doing the operation. I wonder if they�ll let me visit with her after her surgery?

* I�m afraid that I�m starting to not only like the dog, but feel attached to her because of her significance in connection with my mom. I have a co-worker whose parents died within a few months of each other and he wound up taking their elderly dog. I dog sat for him once and I swear that dog was thisclose to death, staggering around the house in a deaf and mostly blind arthritic haze. The dog got fed Spaghetti-O�s because hey, he was a zillion years old and that�s what he liked. Most of my time dogsitting for him was spent alternating between hoping the dog didn�t die on my watch and kind of hoping he would because having to carry a 60 pound dog up and down stairs was getting a little tiresome. Apparently Spaghetti-O�s must have some sort of preservative effect because I think the dog lived a couple of years after that.

Yuck � I just ate the most disgusting thing (or actually stopped eating the most disgusting thing when I realized how disgusting it is). I often eat soup for lunch � usually the fancy Campbell�s Select variety, but for some reason I bought a microwaveable bowl of Campbell�s Chunky Sirloin Burger soup. The name describes it all (almost) but for some reason I didn�t think there would be actual mini-burgers with faux-grill marks on them in the soup. Additionally, the broth had a thick gravy-like consistency and was overly salty. Ugh � what made me think this would be good, I do not know, but consider yourself warned. Ok � that�s enough about comestables � back to the regular blah-blah.

So, for the first time in a few years the god-awful, make-my-life-miserable, animal shelter bake sale isn�t scheduled for the same September weekend that Steve goes to a soccer tournament in Minnesota. So � should I tag along and inflict myself upon Spikenheimer? What do you think? Is he up to a weekend chauffering me around to all the Half-Price Books in the greater Minneapolis area?

1:31 p.m. - 2006-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie