tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Linky-lou

I just called one of our customers, located in Mexico, to speak to our contact there and was told to call back in an hour because, �they put a big screen tv in the lunchroom so we could all watch the Mexico World Cup game.� While I admire the rah-rah, go team, attitude, I hardly think that�s the way to run a business.

I�m in shopping shock. I � world class, first division, pole position number one, shopper extrordinaire � went a little haywire last night, and I blame it all on Weetabix. There were shoes (hello Nordstrom � yearly sale, and no I�m not going to tell you how many pairs), perfume (gift! with purchase!), earrings (sort of match my ring�..), NQP goods at the Land�s End Inlet, gift for Alli (yes, another gift for Alli�), tea from Teavana for my niece (and myself)�. I embarrass myself with the list, and I am so embarrassed that I will have to sneak many of the purchases in to the house while Steve is not looking. He would not approve of the shoes � no, not at all � because there is some serious high-class hooker action with one of the pairs (if Minnie Mouse were a hooker that is). Weet had some luck too and I believe she beat me out in the end in the number of total pairs of shoes purchased if you combine her Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack totals. Although I�d like nothing more than to see Weet more often, it is probably better for my financial well being if she only blows into town 3 or 4 times a year.

Tomorrow Steve and I have tickets to see Prairie Home Companion live at Ravinia. I know it�s horribly unhip to like PHC (although the Robert Altman movie might have lent some hipster cache I don�t think I can count how many times have I heard Ira Glass skewer him on This American Life), but like it I do. I particularly like the musical guests. I checked the PHC website and I think Alice Peacock is going to be on tomorrow and that doesn�t particularly excite me � I would have preferred talent that was less homegrown and more exotic.

Sunday I have to get up and bake a batch of key lime bars and make some dip to take to Steve�s sister�s house for a combo Father�s Day/graduation party. I bought Royce (the niece) a tea brewing contraption and some fancy Monkey Picked Oolong tea. (scroll down to read the explanation of monkey picked tea and to see a little drawing of the picker monkeys) The tea was obscenely expensive, particularly considering that it is no longer picked by trained monkeys (now the term �Monkey Picked� refers to the fanciest and best oolongs � supposedly). I guess someone invented a mechanical picker to get the tender oolong leaves from the top of the tea tree and put all the monkeys out of jobs. I wonder what all the monkeys did when they got their walking papers?

Well, I�ve worn myself out putting in all those links so that�s all you get today.

4:24 p.m. - 2006-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie